Magicienne Monday ~ Mystia

MagicienneMonday

I like Mondays. On Monday, I am refreshed from the weekend and exhilarated by the possibilities of the week ahead. I also like magic. I like its history, its intersection with technology, and its crafty use of human nature.  I figured I’d combine the two and make a Monday feature that is truly me: a little bit of magic and a look at the week ahead.

And on every second Monday, I’m going to feature a female magician from past or present.

Aimee
This poster pretty much sparked Magicienne Monday. Before coming across this lovely sheet for Aimee Desiree at the Victorian Popular Culture portal, I’m not sure I’d seen a poster especially for a female magician. (You can also view it at the Harry Ransom Center.)

From Sidney W. Clarke’s The Annals of Conjuring (The Miracle Factory, 2001):

“Mile. Aimee Desiree (“Mystia”) made her first appearance as a conjurer at the Star Music Hall, Liverpool, on November 25, 1889 and came to the London Pavilion in January 1890. For many years, she performed successfully in this country and in 1909 toured Australia, in company with her husband, George Walter Hunter, himself a clever conjurer though more widely known as a comedian and raconteur. Soon after their return to England, Mystia retired from the stage.

She was one of the most successful of English lady stage conjurers, giving a varied silent show in which sleight-of-hand experiments were judiciously blended with attractive mechanical tricks. Her repertory included an improved version of the Handkerchief and Soup Plates; the Phoenix Canary and the Flying Cage; a Jar of Mystery, from which came flowers and wine; the Peregrinations of a Card; an original transformation of various articles; and other experiments of a similar character.”
Pg 348

SmallAce

What Am I Reading?

Jumped right into Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier after finishing Dead Wake last week. I gotta say, it’s starting a little slow and I was surprised to find that it’s really a YA novel. I should finish Lamont & Wiseman’s Magic in Theory this week and hopefully get a few short stories read.

What Am I Writing?

Missed a Writerly Writer update again yesterday. Maybe I should do one every two weeks?

A mediocre week. Some rewriting. 1583 words. Eric and I have been talking more which is both helpful and disruptive, which is helpful.

On the Blog

Will probably review Fangirl on Thursday. I have an Elmore Leonard story on tap for Deal Me In.

 

Leave a Reply

