Magic Monday ~ Magical Storytelling

MagicMonday

I like Mondays. On Monday, I am refreshed from the weekend and exhilarated by the possibilities of the week ahead. I also like magic. I like its history, its intersection with technology, and its crafty use of human nature.  I figured I’d combine the two and make a Monday feature that is truly me: a little bit of magic and a look at the week ahead.

I’m pretty fond of “storytelling” magic: those routines in which the magician uses patter to tie a narrative to the trick. Here is a lovely example by Suzanne using a magical standard.

SmallAce

What Am I Reading?

may 25
The Estella Project is taking recommendations for this season’s reading list, and I submitted The Last Unicorn. That and a bout of melancholy led me to go ahead and reread it (and the associated Schmendrick stories). I have 50 pages and “Two Hearts” left. (“Two Hearts” is available free and legal at Peter S. Beagle’s website. Just sayin’.) Then, on to Beauty and Chaos: Slices and Morsels of Tokyo Life by Michael Pronko and back to Michael Chabon’s Maps and Legends. I’ve been enjoying the collection of essays by Chabon, but too much literary criticism is too much literary criticism even when it is by a genre agnostic. After a couple not so thrilling tales, I’ll be reading a boxing mystery, “In the Tank” by Andrew Bergman, this week for Deal Me In.

On the Blog

Look at that, a Magic Monday post! At least, a little share of a Magic Monday. The imposed conundrum of blogging is how to provide content consistently without burning out. Really, though, unless it’s your *job*, blogging should be about what makes you happy. Maybe that doesn’t get you an uber amount of readers, but it does keep you sane.

Leave a Reply

