10 Books of Summer & The Estella Project, Season 3

10-booksEstellaProject3-1024x614

Cathy at 746 Books is hosting 20 Books of Summer, or if you’re a slow reader like me, 10 Books of Summer! I’m terrible a sticking to lists, but I want to give this a shot. I’m choosing my books from the other lists I’m slowly working my way through: a little bit of this and a little bit of that. The challenge runs from June 1st through September 4th.

ARCs:
Best Horror of the Year edited by Ellen Datlow Reviewed
Sea Lovers: New and Selected Stories by Valerie Martin (Er… I’d forgotten that I’d requested this. I guess it might be 11 Books of Summer!) – DNF
Girl Meet Class by Karin Gillespie – DNF, it’s not been my summer for ARCs

Obscure Literary Monsters:
The Manitou by Graham Masterton Reviewed
Freddy’s Book by John Gardner

Gothic:
The Turn of the Screw by Henry JamesReviewed
The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield Reviewed

Magic/History Research:
The Rise of the Indian Rope Trick by Peter Lamont Reviewed
(Switched out Linking Rings: William W. Durbin and the Magic and Mystery of America by James David Robenalt)
The Victorian Internet by Tom StandageReviewed

The Estella Project, Season 3:
(Man, this is a great list. *And* so many of them are available from my online library. You’re killing me, Estella Project!)
Citizen: An American Lyric by Claudia Rankine Reviewed
It’s What I Do by Lynsay Addario – DNF, just not the book for me right now.

10 thoughts on “10 Books of Summer & The Estella Project, Season 3

  1. I remember loving The Thirteenth Tale when I read it way back when. It will make you want to (re)read Jane Eyre though 🙂

    Good luck

  2. I just loaned my copy of The Thirteenth Tale to a friend this past weekend. Loved that book. Was annoyed by something near the beginning, but it passed and enjoyed the rest of the story.

    1. I think I was the only person who read Bellman & Black without knowing about The Thirteenth Tale. Loved Bellman & Black; I’ve heard this is quite different, but I think I’ll like it too.

  3. I’m quite a slow reader too. Although doing even just a 10 book challenge is really tempting I’d probably still struggle with a 5 book challenge. Best of luck to you though! And nice blog by the way, the name caught my eye when I was looking around 746 Books. As an aspiring writer it’s nice to see other people making it work.

Leave a Reply

