#ROW80 ~ August 5th Update/Rededication

Update

We returned from our trip late, late Monday night. Tuesday was burned on unpacking, semi-dealing with a few issues that had come up during our vacation, and seeking haven in a little EverQuest 2, the needed vacation after the vacation. Today, I intend to get back on the horse.

I had a short list of stuff that I going to think about doing while in Omaha. What did I get done?

  • Free write daily flash fiction pieces centered around separate magic tricks. – I wrote a little for 8 of the 10 segments I’d planned. I didn’t write on the Sunday when we traveled from Denver to Omaha or on the Wednesday we went to Lincoln. I don’t know what I’m going to do with these yet.
  • Read The Rise of the Indian Rope Trick by Peter Lamont. I read Lamont and Wiseman’s excellent Magic in Theory a while back. I’m not sure I can have too much magic history. – Read a few pages, but mostly read Eric’s current draft of PHYSICaL out-loud as he drove and Best Horror of the Year which I haven’t yet finished, but need to review.
  • Visit the Durham Museum. – Did this! I went with my parents even though they had just gone to the museum the week before. It was nice soaking up a little Omaha history. I even took a picture of a picture of a young Tom Dennison that I hadn’t seen before.

DSCN0298
I bought a slew of books (okay, not that many but a lot for me these days) while in Nebraska, most of which pertain to the Abbott project and/or writing. This list makes me want to chuck my summer reading list and dive right in…

  • From Bluestem Books:
    • The Great Failure: A Bartender, A Monk, and My Unlikely Path to Truth by Natalie Goldberg
    • Barrelhouse Boys by Joel Williamsen
  • From A Novel Idea:
    • When I’m Dead All This Will Be Yours: Joe Teller – A Portrait By His Kid by Teller
  • From Jackson Street Booksellers:
    • Memoirs and Confessions of a Stage Magician by Donald Brandon, Joyce Brandon
    • Learned Pigs and Fireproof Women by Ricky Jay

 Goals (Revised and Updated)

I need new goals for the last two-thirds-ish of round. For this week:

  • Wednesday: Finish my rewrite/note-taking on One Ahead. I had started writing in yWriter, but I don’t think I like it. So, I’ve changed to Word and am updating an Excel sheet with names and the timeline. This is a big chunk of work for today, but I should be able to get it mostly done.
  • Thursday and Friday: Add 850+ per day. That should get me to 16,000 on the manuscript by Saturday.
  • Saturday and Sunday: I haven’t decided whether I want to take weekends off. Maybe I’ll use S&S as slush days or to work on David P. Abbott and The Open Court, which is a collection David Abbott’s articles that I’m lightly editing and formatting as I read them. They’re in the public domain and I’d like to put them out as a freebie ebook.
  • Sunday: ROW80 update. By Sunday, I should have a better idea of what I need to do for the rest of the round.

ROW80Logocopy#ROW80 is a blog hop!
Visit other Row-ers and encourage them!

6 thoughts on “#ROW80 ~ August 5th Update/Rededication

  1. There’s an Evercrack TWO?!?!?

    The first time I set eyes on that game, I thought “That looks fun. REALLY fun. Like…I could spend all day seven days a week playing this…”

    And that is why I have never, every touched the game.

  2. starcatdreamer

    It sounds like you had a really fun trip! And got inspired with new ideas. Your plan for getting to your writing work sounds solid. Best of luck this week! And enjoy!

  3. Love the goals! I’m thinking I need to set a word count per day again, too. Then, at least you know where you’ll be if you make your goals every night. Best of luck on yours!

Leave a Reply

