Gothic and Imperiled

In Arizona, in the valley, September is *almost* autumn. The average highs don’t fall below 100F until mid-month, but the days become noticeably shorter. There’s football on the television and fall ultimate frisbee league begins. It is the start of my favorite third of the year and my reading tastes turn darker than usual.

Michelle at Castle Macabre is here to help usher in the season (no pun intended) and, in its tenth year, R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril will be hosted by The Estella Society!

gothic september

ripnineperilfirst
Read/Watched

  1. “Ligeia” by Edgar Allan Poe
  2. Penny Dreadful and Arthur & George
  3. “The Cask of Amontillado” by Edgar Allan Poe
  4. Motherless Child by Glen Hirshberg
  5. Aliens3 and Event Horizon
  6. “The Fall of the House of Usher” by Edgar Allan Poe
  7. “The Little Maid at the Door” by Mary Wilkins Freeman


Plan (Updated, 9/25)

In addition to the three Poe stories for the readalong, I’m probably only going to read one novel that is roughly “gothic” in September: Robert Bloch’s Psycho. I’m sort of interested in whether it really does fit some of the Gothic tropes. I might fit in another short novel in, maybe a reread of Shirley Jackson’s We Have Always Lived in the Castle or The Cormorant by Stephen Gregory.

My “magic” book for the month is going to be Ricky Jay’s Learned Pigs & Fireproof Women. It’s a bit episodic so I may read it intermittently rather than straight through.

I also have two ARCs scheduled for September. It’s going to be a dual of supernatural Westerns with Paul Lederer’s Showdown at Guyamas and Deadlands: Ghostwalkers by Jonathan Maberry.

Sept2015

Tentatively, I also have October planned:

oct2015
There are again two ARCs: The Witch of Lime Street by David Jaher and The Miser’s Dream by John Gaspard. I’m really looking forward to the third Eli Marks mystery; Gaspard does a great job. If I don’t end up reading The Cormorant in September, I think I will probably read it in October. It’s been on my shelf a long, long time. My magic-related book for the month (aside from the two ARCs) is Suzanne Weyn’s Distant Waves.

And…there’s also a Hamlet read-along going on at The Edge of the Precipice in October which I hope to join. It’s been a while since I’ve reread it.

Quite a few of these books are Perilous reads. And who knows what I’ll draw for Deal Me In! I *am* working my way randomly through an anthology of boxing mysteries.

5 thoughts on “Gothic and Imperiled

  1. Tim Prasil

    Thanks for introducing me to Castle Macabre! I might be joining the read-along. I seem to be on a Poe binge lately.

  2. I’m going to jump into this challenge again this year witht the “Peril of the a Short Story” (surprise!) option. I also want to read Stephen King’s novel “The Dark Half” which I’ve owned for a long time but never read. Time to fix that. Looking forward to hearing your thought’s on Psycho… 🙂 I should read We Have Always Lived in the Castle too, as I’ve always wanted to and already own it. Hmm…

Leave a Reply

