#ROW80 ~ October 14th Update

Round 4, Week 1.5 Update

The best-laid schemes o’ mice an’ men
Gang aft agley,

~Robert Burns, “To a Mouse”

A quick Wednesday update: I had big plans for Sunday. My haywire immune system had a totally different, non-compatible plan. It happens.

Writing

Goals for Week 2+:

  • Write First. Five days out of seven, sit down and write for at least an hour before noon. – A-okay for Mon. & Tues..
  • Sunday: I have the story pretty blocked out. I’m going to go back and add place-holders for scenes I haven’t written. The problem with some of these scenes is that they’re conveyance of information type scenes and I haven’t come up with good ways of writing them. I hope to add 1.6-2K by the end of today (Sunday).Yeah, this didn’t happen on Sunday. On Monday, I added the scenes place-holders, updated the reference doc, and wrote 1200 words. I like Mondays. Tuesday, while finishing the scene I started on Monday, I realized I’d done something bone-headed in my plot and started fixing that and a couple other things. 600 words for the day.
  • By EoD Wednesday – Finish edits.
  • Thursday/Friday Monday/Tuesday: Finish up what scenes I can. Have Eric read on Friday/weekend if he’s available.
  • Finish updating reference document. – Done! Now to keep it up as I write.
  • Not necessarily this week: I was/have been confused about the marital status of one character. He was probably still on his first wife in 1915. Need to change that in One Ahead #1 and in current.

The Publishing End

Goals for Week 2+:

  • Do the usual check-ins. – A-okay Monday & Tuesday
  • Finish spiritualism fiction shelf.
  • Set up week-in-advance promo stuff for Lucinda at the Window. – Scheduled today (Wednesday)

Exercise

Goals for Week 2+:

  • Get some sort of cardio (30+ mins) three times a week. Unfortunately, there’s no league game this week. But maybe Eric and I will start running intervals again. – Nothing yet, but I’ll be going out to play ultimate frisbee in a couple hours.

ROW80Logocopy
Check out the goals of other ROW80 writers and give them a little encouragement!

9 thoughts on “#ROW80 ~ October 14th Update

    1. Yeah, on Sunday I had no choice in the matter. I was hit by fatigue (annoyingly, RA isn’t just about joint pain). Actually, I did have a choice: sleeping or napping. 😉 But, the week has been good so far!

  1. I’m with Esme, above. Take care of yourself first, so you CAN write! If you have to take some time to rest from your illness, your goals will still be there waiting for you. I hope you feel better soon, so you can charge those goals full speed ahead!

    1. My illness is my constant companion, unfortunately. It’s just a more annoying sometimes, like on Sunday. I do okay when I stick to the philosophy of doing as much as I can when I feel good, and not sweating it when I’m poorly.

      1. I have a chronic illness, too, so I understand. Mine’s kidney failure. It’ll be with me all my life, and the hardest part about it is remembering doing all the things I can’t do anymore because of it. Simple things like enjoying watermelon or peaches (can’t have ’em; too much potassium) or chocolate (can’t have that; too much phosphorus), or walking around a mall or a park, or being able to jump in the car and take a long weekend road trip.

  2. Ah, how often has that Robert Burns quote applied to my life…

    Hope you’re feeling better! I’ve learned that when you’re not feeling well the best thing to do is just rest. I’ve tried to push through and ended up just making things worse. Good luck with all of your goals!

  3. I hope you are feeling better.

    I have fibromyalgia, so I can relate to having fatigue and not being able to do what you want to do. 😦 I’ve been trying to make peace with that, and do what I can when I can.

Leave a Reply

