Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon! (October 2015)

11999190_10155934214935618_2131257031_oDetails: Dewey’s 24 Readathon

I’m pretty bad at sticking to lists, but here are my Possibles:

readathon2

Sunday

Really wanted to finish The Miser’s Dream, but my body wasn’t having it. I read one book, cover to cover, and 2/3rds of the other. It was a great day of reading!

Saturday

Time: 23:47
Book: The Miser’s Dream by John Gaspard
Pages read since last update: 23, total: 482
Food & Drink: Fun-sized Twix, coffee, water.
Notes: I fear the coffee is in vain. I’m super tired, my body is pretty creaky, and it’s time to call it a night.

Time: 22:07
Book: The Miser’s Dream by John Gaspard
Pages read since last update: 44, total: 459
Food & Drink: Kit-Kat, Pumpkin spice pudding, Creme Brule coffee, water
Notes: Includes a Doctor Who/Minecraft break and a short walk with my husband.

Time: 19:06
Book: The Miser’s Dream & The Witch of Lime Street by David Jaher
Pages read since last update: 23, total for the day is 415
Food & Drink: Dinner! Hot dogs, brocco-slaw and tomato salad.

Time: 17:15
Book: The Miser’s Dream by John Gaspard
Pages read since last update: 49, total for the day: 387
Food & Drink: Fun-sized Twix and Kit-Kat, zucchini sticks, Dr. Pepper 10, water
Notes: Had another brief nap. Time to dress some salads to go with our dinner of grilled hot dogs.

Time: 15:22
Book: The Miser’s Dream by John Gaspard
Pages read since last update: 19, total for the day: 338
Food & Drink: Half a Rockstar with some vodka (my back is annoying). Water (I’m not totally nuts.)
Notes: Football, Twitter. The enemies of reading. But fun. 🙂

Challenge: Pumpkin Spice or Naw?

Time: 14:04
Book: Finished Distant Waves
Pages read since last update: 65, total for the ‘thon is 319
Food & Drink: Pumpkin spice pudding, water.
Notes: While listening to the Nebraska football game.

Time: 12:26
Book: Distant Waves by Suzanne Weyn
Pages read since last update: 31, total for today is 254
Food & Drink: Fun-sized Kit-Kat and water.
Notes: Took another little nap on the couch. Hoped to finish Distant Waves by the time the football came on, but it didn’t happen. It’s all good!

Time: 11:03
Book: Distant Waves by Suzanne Weyn
Pages read since last update: 33, a ‘thon total of 223
Food & Drink: Still working on my water and pop.
Notes: The text of this book is set in Minister Light. It’s a very nice font.

Challenge: Halloween Preparation

Share your creepy Halloween read with the world.

Cover via GoodreadsThe best creepy read I’ve had in a while is Glen Hirshberg’s Motherless Child. I guess I would describe it as a fast-paced rock-and-roll vampire road trip. Vampires and rock music. They go together like chocolate and peanut butter…

Time: 10:13
Book: Distant Waves by Suzanne Weyn
Pages read since last update: 47, total of 190
Food & Drink: Having my Party Pizza brunch right now. Water. Dr. Pepper 10

Time: 09:04
Book: Distant Waves by Suzanne Weyn
Pages read since last update: 29, total for the ‘thon 143
Food & Drink: Zucchini sticks with a little seasoning. Water.
Notes: Blythe is my favorite character in this book.

Challenge: Goodreads Road Trip Challenge (if you don’t have Goodreads)

Write a short postcard to a friend (or to another of the book’s characters who wasn’t invited on your cross country odyssey) telling them what’s up with you and your new fictional BFF.

Thad, you’re a heartless beast. Here I am with Janey in London, and she sees nothing of it. All she can do is think of you. The only acceptable excuse from you is that Mad Tesla accidentally shot you into the future or to Mars or some such. In all seriousness, write. You own Jane that. ~K

Time: 08:11
Book: Distant Waves by Suzanne Weyn
Pages read since last update: 39, today’s total is 114
Food & Drink: Fun-sized Twix and (wait for it…) coffee and water.
Notes: Had a little nap on the couch. Sadly, my back is annoyingly achy today.

Time: 07:02
Book: Distant Waves by Suzanne Weyn
Pages read since last update: 38, total for the ‘thon is 75
Food & Drink: More coffee, more water.
Notes: I do really like dawn.

Time: 06:04
Book: Distant Waves by Suzanne Weyn
Pages read since last update: 37
Food & Drink: Chai Spice coffee, Thick & Fluffy Eggo with PB & J, water.
Notes: I’d forgotten that Tesla is in this book too!

Time: 04:56
Notes: I said that this season I wasn’t going to worry about getting up on time. So, this is the first year that I’m up on time!

Challenge: The Pre-Party Post

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Tempe, AZ in the US. I’m hoping for a cool day.

2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? The Miser’s Dream by John Gaspard. It’s the third in a series of mysteries featuring a working modern-day stage magician.

3) Which snack are you most looking forward to? Totino’s Party Pizza! (Don’t judge…)

4) Tell us a little something about yourself! Haven’t had enough coffee yet for this question. 😉

5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? I’m not going to worry about staying up the whole time. Chances are in two hours, I’m going to go back to bed. And that’s okay.

Friday Night

My “stack” is ready. The snacks are prepared. Now, I need to distract myself with writing until I’m tired enough to sleep.

I’m not going to sweat my start time tomorrow. Like only playing one day at an ultimate frisbee tournament, sometimes I need to limit my fun for my own good. Lately, I’ve been waking up by 8am, so I’ll probably be starting sometime in hour 4.

Leave a Reply

