#ROW80 ~ October 18th Update

Round 4, Week 2 Update

Writing

Week 2:

Ended up wanting/needing to do some research last week to set some details. I’m writing stories set in 1915 Omaha and, wonderfully, there are newspapers from the era available online. I came across an interesting news story that I want to incorporate into One Ahead #2. Also, since the weather event I need takes place later in the year than I wanted, this will actually probably be One Ahead #3.

  • Write First. Five days out of seven, sit down and write for at least an hour before noon. – Total fail after Mon/Tues.
  • By EoD Wednesday – Finish edits. – Did this!
  • Thursday/Friday: Finish up what scenes I can. Have Eric read on Friday/weekend if he’s available. – Behind on this since I spent a couple days on research.
  • Finish updating reference document. – Done! Now to keep it up as I write.
  • Not necessarily this week: I was/have been confused about the marital status of one character. He was probably still on his first wife in 1915. Need to change that in One Ahead #1 and in current. – Actually, I still don’t know about June’s wives… I’m back to thinking that his second wife is the better choice. I don’t have any good sources for one way or the other so I’m going to make a judgement call.

Goals for Week 3+:

My goal is to have a first draft of One Ahead #3 by the end of the month and I think that’s still doable. What do I have left?

  • Seven scenes. Three of them are already over halfway done.
  • Add new element, especially to the first few scenes.
  • Timeline clean-up. I probably need to rearrange a few scenes and I need to make sure things are happening on the right day.
  • Note clean-up.

My two measurable goals:

  • Write First. Five days out of seven, 500 words before noon.
  • Make a better list of further story ideas.

The Publishing End

Week 2:

  • Do the usual check-ins. – Did fine.
  • Finish spiritualism fiction shelf. – This was low-priority to start with…
  • Set up week-in-advance promo stuff for Lucinda at the Window. – Done!

Goals for Week 3:

  • Do the usual check-ins.
  • Attend to Lucinda at the Window promo on Saturday.
  • Work on spiritualism fiction shelf on Riffle.

Exercise

Week 2:

  • Get some sort of cardio (30+ mins) three times a week. Unfortunately, there’s no league game this week. But maybe Eric and I will start running intervals again. – Played ultimate on Wednesday and worked out on Friday. Not planning on anything today.

Goal for Week 3:

  • Get some sort of cardio (30+ mins) three times a week.

ROW80Logocopy
Check out the progress of other ROW80 writers and give them a little encouragement!

One thought on “#ROW80 ~ October 18th Update

  1. I love it when something I was planning works out that way, whether is writing or research. Congrats on the progress!!

    Here’s to an awesome week ahead and happy writing!!

Leave a Reply

