#ROW80 ~ November 22nd Update

Round 4, Week 7 Update

Writing

I’ve more or less bailed on NaNoWriMo, which is okay. I got out of it what I wanted: a couple weeks of free writing on various aspects of the One Ahead series. That said, it wasn’t a very good week. Lots of anxiety.

Time to rework my goals and head forward.

Week 7:

  • Write First. Five days out of seven, 1 hour of work/500 words before noon. – Still only making it about 4 days out of 7.
  • Continue averaging 1000 words a day for this week. It’s not NaNo level, but it’s more than I have been doing. – Started rewriting on One Ahead #1.
  • Reorganize my document and maybe get these stories into better shape without editing or rewriting. – Irrelevant.
  • Edits/additional writing on One Ahead #1 & #3 as needed. – Working on this. Rewrote about 800 words and added about as much additional to One Ahead #1.

Goals for Week 8+:

  • Write First. Five days out of seven, 1 hour of work/500 words before noon.
  • Rewrites on One Ahead #1 – Wednesday, 11/25
  • Rough draft of One Ahead #2 – 12/13
  • Rewrites on One Ahead #3 – End of the round.

The Publishing End

Week 7:

  • Do the usual check-ins. – Done.
  • Finish changing Weordan info before Friday – Done.
  • Run promo for Model Species and Divine Fire. – Done.

Goals for Week 8+:

  • Do the usual check-ins.

Exercise

Week 7:

  • Get some sort of cardio (30+ mins) three times a week. – Played ultimate on Wednesday and Thursday. Planning on going for a run this afternoon.

Goal for Week 8+:

  • Get some sort of cardio (30+ mins) three times a week. – With Thanksgiving this week, I’m going to have to make an effort.

ROW80LogocopyLink up and cheer for other ROW-ers!

5 thoughts on “#ROW80 ~ November 22nd Update

  1. I didn’t even attempt NaNo, but I’m behind on my writing goals. I’m aiming for 5K/week, and am only hitting 3-4K. I did have one week where I hit 8K, though, so I’m not horribly far behind. But with teaching and holidays, I’ll take what I can get.

    Good luck with your goals and happy Thanksgiving!

  2. I’ve considered doing NaNo, but I think I would bail for much the same reason you did. Also, I have a terrible fear that I’m not as creative as I wish I were. I know, that’s exactly what NaNo is for – just to spit stuff out so that you can get your creative juices flowing. But for now I think I’ll stick to reading and blogging. 🙂

    1. At about day 10, I started feeling not-so-creative. I’m not a fast writer and it started to feel like I’m using the same three words continually just to get words on the page. (I need to bookmark all these comments and reread them next November when I start think, “NaNoWriMo? That’s a great idea!” 😉 )

Leave a Reply

