Magic Monday ~ Houdini & Doyle

MagicMonday

I like Mondays. On Monday, I am refreshed from the weekend and exhilarated by the possibilities of the week ahead. I also like magic. I like its history, its intersection with technology, and its crafty use of human nature. I figured I’d combine the two and make a Monday feature that is truly me: a little bit of magic and a look at the week ahead.

Magic is getting a bit of media play lately. There’s the Now You See Me movies, Fool Us on the CW (one of the network’s top-rated shows), strong showings on America’s Got Talent by Mat Franco and Piff the Magic Dragon, and History’s Houdini mini-series. Along the lines of the latter, Fox has picked up the ten-episode series Houdini and Doyle.

Houdini_Doyle

While Houdini isn’t my favorite magician ever and the series will play fast and loose with historical facts, I still can’t resist period piece mystery, especially one that might involve some magic history.

For more information on the series and all things Houdini, check out John Cox’s excellent Wild About Harry.

SmallAce

It’s Monday, What Am I Reading?

I’m sad that I missed the Holiday Readathon last weekend. I’m in the mood to read!

12-7-what

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Vol. 1 by Ryan North & Erica Henderson – I bought this for my niece for Christmas and I’m making sure that it’s age appropriate. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

The Magician and the Cardsharp by Karl Johnson – Yep, still reading this one, but I should finish soon.

Chef Maurice and a Spot of Truffle by J.A. Lang – I’m interested in the form of cozy mysteries and this has been on my Kindle for a while. Any cozy suggestions? Lay ’em on me.

It's Monday! What Are You ReadingIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading, hosted by Book Date

 

3 thoughts on “Magic Monday ~ Houdini & Doyle

Leave a Reply

