Magic Monday ~ The War Magician

MagicMonday

I like Mondays. On Monday, I am refreshed from the weekend and exhilarated by the possibilities of the week ahead. I also like magic. I like its history, its intersection with technology, and its crafty use of human nature. I figured I’d combine the two and make a Monday feature that is truly me: a little bit of magic and a look at the week ahead.

What’s this? They might be making a movie about a historical magician that *isn’t* Houdini? Maybe, yes!

Entertainment Weekly reports that Benedict Cumberbatch has been announced to play Jasper Maskelyne, the “war magician.” Maskelyne, a third generation stage magician, joined the Royal Engineers during World War II and lent his talents of misdirection and subterfuge. Just how much of an impact he made on the war effort is debatable, but it could make an interesting film in any case. I’m also hope that this might lead to David Fisher’s book on Jasper Maskelyne getting a reprint.

Here is Jasper Maskelyne in 1937 doing a variation on the needles trick.

SmallAce

It’s Monday, What Am I Reading?

Last week, I read Chef Maurice and a Spot of Truffle by J. A. Lang. What a fun mystery! I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the series eventually.

Dec14

I’ll probably finish up one or two of the books I have in progress, but I’m kind of in a cozy mystery mood. In my cozy pile I have The Murder at the Vicarage by Agatha Christie and Ghostwriter Anonymous by Noreen Wald. I also just downloaded a free short story, “Changing Habits,” which is the prequel to another series.

It's Monday! What Are You ReadingIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading, hosted by Book Date!

4 thoughts on “Magic Monday ~ The War Magician

Leave a Reply

