Bout of Books 15

Bout of Books

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 4th and runs through Sunday, January 10th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 15 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

Summary

My “day job” got the better of me, but I still managed 262 pages and half of an couple hours of an audio book. Not too shabby. A great start to January!

TBR, etc.

Readathons: when people who already read a bunch read even more.  I have a TBR, but no specific goal other than having some BoB fun.

  • Finish The Magician and the Cardsharp by Karl Johnson – Finished
  • “The Key” by Issac Asimov – Finished
  • White Plume Mountain by Paul Kidd (I’ve already started this one too.)
  • The Red House Mystery by A.A. Milne (#COYER)
  • “One Drink” by Max Florschutz (#COYER)
  • Finish listening to As You Wish by Cary Elwes – Finished

Subject to change. 😉

Sunday

Books Read From: “The Book Seller”, White Plume Mountain
Number of Pages Today: 51
Number of Pages Total: 262
Notes: I’d *like* to hit 300 pages read, but I’m still having quite the busy week.

Saturday

Books Read From: White Plume Mountain
Number of Pages Today: 22
Number of Pages Total: 211
Notes: Feeling better today. Missed the chat, but that’s okay. My batteries are still pretty low.

Friday

Books Read From: White Plume Mountain *cough*
Number of Pages Today: 8
Number of Pages Total: 189
Notes: Just sort of crashed on Friday. Managed some VOTS stuff, did my Python assignment, and otherwise played EQ2 all day.

Thursday

Books Read From: White Plume Mountain
Number of Pages Today: 40
Number of Pages Total: 181
Notes: It’s past noon and I haven’t read yet. *Such* a Thursday.
Challenge:

Bingeing on Books — Villain Mash Up
Pick villains from two different books that you would love to see fight each other. It can be from any genre and it doesn’t even have to be a physical fight. … Give a short reason why you think these villains should fight each other.

VillainFight

King Haggard from The Last Unicorn v. Stannis Baratheon from A Game of Thrones

Both have fiery allies who could also do battle, but the glare-off between these two powerful old men would be epic. Who would win? My money is on the meaner and immovable Haggard.

Wednesday

Books Read From: “The Key”, White Plume Mountain
Number of Pages Today: 59
Number of Pages Total: 141
Notes: …Once I finish with the webpages, I have Python homework…
Challenge:

Ranty Runt of a Reader — The Rainbow Challenge
For the author challenge, use authors surnames to complete an acrostic poem style rainbow of ROYGBIV

R – Rainbow(!) Rowell
O – Joyce Carol Oates
Y – Chelsea Quinn Yarbro
G – Elizabeth Gaskell
B – Emma Bull
I – Suzie Ivy
V – Ursula Vernon

Tuesday

Books Read From: White Plume Mountain
Number of Pages Today: 44
Number of Pages Total: 82
Notes: Should have expected that I’d need to attend to my webmaster duties this week…
Challenge:

Writing My Own Fairy Tale — Would You Rather

Would you rather: Lend books to someone who dog-ears pages or to someone who reads with cheesy Cheetos fingers? Lend to someone who dog-ears. Very few of my books are pristine, but I don’t like…stains.

Would you rather: Be able to meet one character of your choice or meet one author of your choice? Author, and probably an author of nonfiction. As an author of fiction, I know how boring authors can be and how flimsy character are. 😉

Would you rather: Never be allowed in a book store again or never be allowed in a library again? Bookstores. I’m poor. Bookstores are just frustrating.

Would you rather: Have to choose one of your favorite characters to die in their book or have to pick one of your favorite couples to break up in their book? I’d pick the breakup, but I don’t read a lot of books with couples, so that feels a little like cheating.

Would you rather: Be required to read Twilight once a year for the rest of your life or The Scarlet Letter once a year for the rest of your life? I have nothing against Twilight, but I’d want something with a little meat to it. I’d have to go with The Scarlet Letter.

Monday

Books Read From: The Magician and the Cardsharp (I didn’t realize I only had one chapter left…), also finished the last 3 hours of As You Wish.
Number of Pages Today: 38
Number of Pages Total: 38
Notes: Gosh, I have a lot to do today. I’ll try to squeeze some reading in.
Challenge:

The challenge is simple: introduce yourself on Twitter, Instagram, or on this post using six words, no more, no less.

I should probably add “cheater” too. (But I do *always* forget the hashtags!)

5 thoughts on “Bout of Books 15

  1. I’ve got my eye on the #24in48 Readathon coming up in a couple weeks – I may do another euchre deck project and read 24 stories in 48 hours again.

    I thnk yesterday or the day before was Asimov’s birthday so that would be an appropriate read for you in this Readathon. Other than my familiarity with Winnie the Pooh, I don’t think I’ve ever read any Milne in my life.

    1. “The Key” is my first Deal Me In pick, which I thought was rather fortuitous with Asimov’s birthday yesterday. But then I remembered that he *is* taking up an entire suit, so a one in four chance really. Darn statistics ruining a perfectly good narrative.

      I thought about doing #24in48 too, but I probably shouldn’t. I suppose I should get work done occasionally.

  2. I’d bet that very few people will have a similar six-word intro! It’s delightfully telling. 🙂

    Best of luck with BoB!

    And a note of thanks to Jay for his #24in48 tip: I had no idea this RaT existed! I intend to read for the (similar to BoB and thus familiar) #WintersRespite RaT Jan. 18-24 hosted at http://seasonsreading.blogspot.com/, but if things work out time-wise, there’s no reason not to kick-start things with an intensive weekend the two days prior! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

