Month-Long #Weirdathon

Weird2

Wrap-Up

Reviewed:

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

Read:

Alas, I didn’t get any more weird lit read last week. I’m a little unfocused at the moment. Lists and I don’t always get along. 😉

But Weirdathon was a great deal of fun and I hope Julianne decides to do it again!

Week Four

Read:

Another unsettled week; alas, not an unsettling week. After putting Mister B. Gone aside, it took me a while to settle on another book. I wanted to reread We Have Always Lived in the Castle, but I couldn’t find my copy. Instead I picked up Riverwatch by Joseph Nassise, but it didn’t withstand the 50 page test. As I was contemplating my shelves, I spotted it: Shirley Jackson between Dolores Claiborne and a Horus Heresy novel. Review to come on Tuesday.

After E. T. A. Hoffmann disappointed with the very not-weird “The Fermata,” I read “Under the Pyramids” by H. P. Lovecraft. I’ll have a special Magic Monday review of that on, well, Monday.

Week Three

Reviewed:

Heirs of Grace by Tim Pratt

Read:

DNF – Mister B. Gone by Clive Barker. I bought this book from the Tempe Library bookshop, probably for $1 on June 4, 2010 (according to the bus pass that was fell out). I was intrigued by the book’s narrator, a medieval demon apparently, asking me to “Burn this book. Go on. Quickly, while there’s still time.” But, honestly, by page 85, Barker seems to be trying too hard and I wasn’t really enjoying Mister B. Gone. It feels like it would have made a great novella though.

“Green Thumb” by Earl Hatsby is a short story I’ve had hanging around my Kindle since the end of August. Two brothers have been kidnapped by a very peculiar serial killer. Great setting.

Also read about Datas the Memory Man and various Equine Amusements in Learned Pigs and Fireproof Women.

What’s Next:

Lunar Park is too heavy at the moment. I mean that literally; I’m suffering a bit of a flare-up, so reading is going to be limited to what I can read on my desktop monitors until my hands and wrists work again. Probably dip into Hoffmann again.

Week Two

Reviewed:

Mrs. Caliban by Rachael Ingalls

Read:

Heirs of Grace by Tim Pratt. Was it weird? An adopted woman meets her biological siblings, all of which aren’t entire human. Then again, neither is she… It’s been years since I read any Tim Pratt. I’d forgotten how weird he is. Heirs of Grace reminded me a lot of Clive Barker’s The Thief of Always. Which reminds me, I have a book of Clive Barker stories around here somewhere…

What’s Next:

Started Lunar Park, but I’m not sure I’m in the mood. Started Gerald’s Game by Stephan King, but I’m not sure it’s weird enough. So, yeah, thinking about Clive Barker. I believe I own (and haven’t read much of) Books of Blood, Vol. 1-3, as well as Mister B. Gone and The Thief of Always which would be a reread.

Week One

Read:

Mrs. Caliban by Rachel Ingalls. Was it weird? A housewife has an affair with a frog-man. Yes, it was weird. I realized about halfway through that Lunar Park will be a good juxtaposition. Both are domestic, midlife crisis flavored weird. I’ll have a review on Tuesday.

Alas, the ending of Mrs. Caliban was a bit depressing. I decided to use Ricky Jay’s Learned Pigs & Fireproof Women as a palate cleanser. I read about Blind Tom, an ex-slave who could exactly reproduce musical pieces after hearing them once, and magician Max Malini. I also read “The Cremona Violin” by E. T. A. Hoffmann. Like “The Sandman,” it was full of art, architecture, and dying damsels. I feel like all of Hoffmann’s stories should be illustrated by Edward Gorey.  I think that I can only take Hoffmann in small doses.

What’s next:

Shockingly (to no one), I don’t feel like reading anything on my list. I took a long look at my Kindle and found that I own Heirs of Grace by Tim Pratt. Will it be weird enough? First sentence: “My new life was off to a bumpy start even before Trey got eaten by the mirror.” Yeah, I think it’ll do.

Kick-Off

Thus far 2016 has been pretty busy, reading and otherwise. A visit from my parents, classes, ARCs…  But March is wide open, and it’s time to get weird.

Julianne at Outlandish Lit is hosting this month-long celebration of the weird and wonderful in honor of her three-year bloggiversary. There will be prizes. There will be Bookstgramming. There will be Weird-Offs. Sounds like a great time to me!

This is weird stack version 2. (I should never make a TBR stack more than 48 hours in advance of an event…) It’s still my own damn weird books, but I’m including a reread: Bret Easton Ellis’s Lunar Park. I actually went out of my way to purchase a copy with intent to reread it…about two years ago.

I’m keeping Mrs. Caliban by Rachael Ingalls from the Obscure Literary Monster list. It’s the shortest of the trio.

I also wanted to read some classic weird. I considered  The King in Yellow, but instead I think I’ll finish an anthology I already started: volume one of E.T.A. Hoffmann’s Weird Tales. I read “The Sandman” last year and really enjoyed it.

Other options:

  • Learned Pigs & Fireproof Women by Ricky Jay
  • The Unknown Poe
  • “The Djinn in the Nightingale’s Eye” by A. S. Byatt
9 thoughts on “Month-Long #Weirdathon

  1. Pingback: Magic Monday ~ Three TV Magicians – The Writerly Reader

  2. Pingback: March Reading Wrap-Up – The Writerly Reader

Leave a Reply

