Magic Monday ~ Cigarettes and Book Covers

MagicMonday

I like Mondays. On Monday, I am refreshed from the weekend and exhilarated by the possibilities of the week ahead. I also like magic. I like its history, its intersection with technology, and its crafty use of human nature. I figured I’d combine the two and make a Monday feature that is truly me: a little bit of magic and a look at the week ahead.

Much of magic is dependent on the use of ordinary objects to do extraordinary things. Therefore, magic is also somewhat time and place dependent. Top hats aren’t used much for tricks anymore because men no longer wear top hats. Likewise, if I took a pack of ordinary Bicycle playing cards back in time to 1900, they would certainly incite suspicion with their quality card stock and “air-cushion” finish. And so, in a world where smoking is becoming restricted to outdoors*, performances like Tom Mullica’s signature cigarette routine will become more and more scarce.

Tom Mullica passed away last week. No, not due to anything smoking-related or to the myelogenous leukemia he was diagnosed with in 2010, but due to complications following a routine hernia operation. He was 67.

* Personally, I have no problem with this. If smoking is a personal choice, it can’t really be done around people who choose not to.

SmallAce

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Territory Fresh Off the Boat: A Memoir

Before Sunday, I’d only read 47 pages last week. Some drama centering around our next door neighbor really wore me out. I’m still working on Territory by Emma Bull and started listening to Fresh Off the Boat by Eddie Huang. While there is a TV show based on Huang’s book, the book is definitely not a sit-com. Tomorrow, I’ll have a review of Glen Hirshberg’s new release, Good Girls.

It's Monday! What Are You ReadingIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading, hosted by Book Date!

What Am I Writing?

nuts2smshadowThis week I’ll be doing a final pass on Bounded in a Nutshell. And, the hard part, I still have to write a blurb. But I should have it good to go by the weekend.

And, since authors do these things, cover reveal! The book is a collection of my short works, mostly flash fiction pieces.

If you’re interested in being notified when Bounded in a Nutshell is released, sign up for my totally spam-free update list.

One thought on “Magic Monday ~ Cigarettes and Book Covers

Leave a Reply

