February Reading Wrap-Up

Even though there’s still a bit of February left…

Challenges

I’m still chugging along through the TBR Triple Dog Dare and #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks.

tbr-final-dare ReadMyOwnDamnBooksbutton

I had two ARCs that needed to be read by the end of February, both of which were acquired last year. So, by the letter of the law, I’ve been doing fine with the Dare. From books that I personally own, I’ve only started Emma Bull’s Territory. If I get a good couple of reading sessions in, I should finish it by the end of the month.

Finished in February

The only short stories I read this month were for Deal Me In. It’s been a really slow reading month…

Additions to my Library

(Not to be read until after April 1st)

  1. “Mystic Brew” by Caren Rich, 2/12/16, Amazon, $0.99
  2. The Guns of Retribution by Icy Sedgwick, 2/20/16, Amazon, Free
  3. To Kill a Dead Man by Icy Sedgwick, 2/20/16, Amazon, $0.99

I only bought a few ebooks from writers I know online. Three is a surprisingly low number for me.

Notes

I really wish Goodreads had a way to search or sort your library by genre, or rather the most tagged genre for a given work. I’d like to be able, when I’m in the mood for a certain genre, to search through the books I own. I’ve been thinking about other systems/apps to manage this, but I haven’t come up with a good solution.

I think I’ve finally kicked the ARC habit. I have two more to review in May, but I haven’t had any desire to comb through NetGalley for new titles. A few reasons for this, I think. 1.) I have so many books on my shelves that I haven’t read. The phrase “embarrassment of riches” comes to mind. I don’t need to acquire more 2.) I don’t feel like I’ve been providing quality reviews lately. I was never much of a reviewer in the first place, but I think the authors and publishers who are providing me with ARCs probably deserve better than my sometimes half-baked impressions. 3.) I’m suffering from a touch of blogger burn-out. I’d rather not feel obligated to review.

One thought on “February Reading Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

