Magic Monday ~ Principles of Magic

MagicMonday

I like Mondays. On Monday, I am refreshed from the weekend and exhilarated by the possibilities of the week ahead. I also like magic. I like its history, its intersection with technology, and its crafty use of human nature. I figured I’d combine the two and make a Monday feature that is truly me: a little bit of magic and a look at the week ahead.

Tricks with smoking two weeks in a row? Yes, but this is one of my favorite bits of Penn & Teller magic. I’m pretty sure I’ve shared a version in the past, but it’s a good repeat.

SmallAce

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Heirs of GraceI finished both Territory and Mrs. Caliban last week. I’ll have a review of the latter tomorrow.

Despite the TBR stack I’d already picked out for Weirdathon, I was in the mood for something

  • with a contemporary setting,
  • lighter than Bret Easton Ellis’s Lunar Park,
  • still weird,
  • that I already owned.

I checked my Kindle and realized I had purchased Tim Pratt’s Heirs of Grace last summer. It fits the bill, but the main character is a little annoying to me.

It's Monday! What Are You ReadingIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading, hosted by Book Date!

What Am I Writing?

As of last night, Bounded in a Nutshell is part of the world. I haven’t officially “launched” it (I’m not even sure what that entails), but it’ll be on sale (as in FREE) in couple weeks.

Next project, the Abbott stories. I plan to reread the first one today, then gather up my notes and decide where to continue from there. Penn & Teller’s principles of magic didn’t come to mind this morning for no reason.

One thought on “Magic Monday ~ Principles of Magic

Leave a Reply

