Mini Reviews, Vol. 1 ~ Bright Squirrels, Dark Brews, and Crimson Peaks

MiniReviews
Because sometimes I don’t have a lot to say about a lot of things!

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Vol. 2: Squirrel You Know It's True Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Vol. 2: “Squirrel, You Know It’s True” by Ryan North (writer), Erica Henderson (artist)

Maybe not as much magic as the first volume, but still a lot of fun. Plus, extra credit for involving Ratatoskr, the squirrel of Norse myth. One of the things I like best about Doreen/Squirrel Girl is her indefatigable optimism, not only in her own abilities, but in the abilities of those around her. It’s a nice thing to see in the world.

Mystic Brew cover “Mystic Brew” by Caren Rich

I really enjoyed Caren Rich’s “Tales of Christmas in the South,” so I was pretty keen to check out her new tale (when I finally could after the Triple Dog Dare TBR Challenge). I do like my short stories like I like my coffee: dark, and this story is definitely that!

Crimson Peak Crimson Peak (2015) – Directed by Guillermo del Toro, Starring: Mia Wasikowska, Jessica Chastain, and Tom Hiddleston

Beautiful imagery and cinematography (by Dan Laustsen). Crimson Peak is the sort of ghost story I enjoy, but it was also sort of a mish-mash of Gothic tropes. Spirit photography & Victrola records. A mysteriously bouncing ball & a wheel chair. A decaying house with vats in the basement. In a way, it sort of reminded me of American Horror Story with its nods and reworkings from all over the horror genre.

One thought on “Mini Reviews, Vol. 1 ~ Bright Squirrels, Dark Brews, and Crimson Peaks

  1. Pingback: April Reading Wrap-Up – The Writerly Reader

Leave a Reply

