Magic Monday ~ A Standard, Under the Sea

MagicMonday
The cups and balls. Everyone knows of the cups and balls. It’s one of the oldest magic tricks. But that doesn’t mean that something new can’t be done with it.

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

I finished listening to Bill Bryson’s A Walk in the Woods this past week. I’ll probably review it tomorrow. Might possibly get “caught up” this week if I finish these two:

alt text The Doll-Master and Other Tales of Terror by Joyce Carol Oates

I’m halfway through this collection of six stories. Joyce Carol Oates continues to never give me what I expect…

 

alt text The Reason I Jump: The Inner Voice of a Thirteen-Year-Old Boy with Autism by Naoki Higashida, K.A. Yoshida & David Mitchell (Translators)

Also halfway through The Reason I Jump. I need to sort through my thoughts before taking a look at the #NFBookClub discussion questions.

It's Monday! What Are You ReadingIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading, hosted by Book Date!

What Am I Writing?

I really need to get my butt in gear concerning the Open Court stuff. I goofed off way too much last week.

6 thoughts on “Magic Monday ~ A Standard, Under the Sea

  1. I really enjoyed A Walk in the Woods. Someday I’d like to spend a week or so on that trail. I could never do the whole thing, though. I’m remembering one very funny section of the book where he talks about how he studied up on what to do if you encounter a bear. He says how it goes through some long description of behavior that should serve to frighten the bear away but then at the very end it says, although “this may sometimes serve to aggravate the bear…” What?! 🙂

  2. I really, really enjoyed A Walk in the Woods too, though I tend to enjoy everything Bryson writes! He’s got such a great sense of humour, but his books are packed with information, so you’re laughing out loud but really building your knowledge base, at the same time. Not every author can accomplish that!

Leave a Reply

