April Reading Wrap-Up

Challenges

The Readathon left me with lots of reviews to write, but not a lot of progress on my current challenges. I think I suffered from Triple Dog Dare rebound: I read all the things from January through March. 😉

I read two stories for Once Upon a Time:

  1. “The Right Sort of Monsters” by Kelly Sandoval
  2. “The Djinn in the Nightingale’s Eye” by A. S. Byatt

Finished in April

  1. Gerald’s Game by Stephen King (#readMyOwnDamnBooks)
  2. A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson (audio)
  3. Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Vol. 2 by Ryan North & Erica Henderson
  4. The Doll-Master by Joyce Carol Oates (ARC)
  5. The Reason I Jump by Naoki Higashida (book club, part 1, part 2)
  6. Me Before You Jojo Moyes (audio)
  7. Lumberjanes, Vol. 1 by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Brooke A. Allen (Illustrator), Maarta Laiho (library)

Additions to my Library

  1. The Accidental Alchemist by Gigi Pandian, 4/3/16, Amazon, $1.99
  2. War for the Oaks by Emma Bull, 4/6/16, Book Mooch, For my collection.
  3. Yevgeny Onegin by Alexander Pushkin (Anthony Briggs, trans), 4/11/16, NetGalley, ARC
  4. “The Woman in Brown” by Tony Richards, 4/21/16, Amazon, Free
  5. Hustling Hitler by Walter Shapiro, 4/20/16, First to Read, ARC
  6. An Aura of Familiarity, 4/21/16, website, Free

Notes

I have two ARCs for May, but doing #smashYourStack when I only read about four books a month is kind of silly. I *am* going to try to do another month of no acquisitions.

7 thoughts on “April Reading Wrap-Up

  1. Sally Allen

    I love your taste in books. ❤ Is that a new Eugene Onegin translation coming out?! I read it about two years ago for the first time and loved it so much. I'm going to get very excited if there's a new translation for me to *have to* get my hands on, and soon. 🙂

      1. Sally Allen

        Interesting! Thank you! I’m not sure which I read, so will have to look at my copy. I’m almost hoping it wasn’t Nabakov’s so I have an excuse to read his version, ha.

  2. Katie

    Isn’t Lumberjanes so amazingly awesome?! My formerly reluctant reader (10yo) is reading the series now and she lurves it!! What a good find. Stephenson’s NIMONA is also definitely worth reading!

Leave a Reply

