15-ish Books of Summer 2016

15booksfinalCathy at 746 Books is hosting 20 Books of Summer again, or if you’re a slow reader like me, 10 15 Books of Summer. Looking back at last year, I’m pretty happy with how well I did. I finished 7/10 from my list! Picking from my other reading lists really kept things fresh. Instead of giving myself “switch-out” ability this year, I’m picking a dozen books. Against my better judgment, I’m going to shoot for 15 books (from a list of 22).

Updated 8/12/16

Finished

  1. The Nazi Séance: The Strange Story of the Jewish Psychic in Hitler’s Circle by Arthur J. Magida – REVIEWED
  2. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley (I signed up for a class…) – REVIEWED
  3. The Last Policeman by Ben H. Winters – REVIEWED
  4. Smoke and Mirrors by Mike Costa, Jon Armstrong & Ryan Browne – REVIEWED
  5. Yevgeny Onegin by Alexander Pushkin – REVIEWED
  6. I Lie for Money: Candid, Outrageous Stories from a Magician’s Misadventures by Steve Spill – REVIEWED
  7. Presto: How I Made Over 100 Pounds Disappear and Other Magical Tales by Penn Jillette (added 6/9) – REVIEWED
  8. The Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt – REVIEWED
  9. The Great God Pan by Arthur Machen – REVIEWED
  10. Summerlong by Peter S. Beagle – READ
  11. The Unknown Poe, edited by Raymond Foye – READ
  12. Decent into the Depth of the Earth by Paul Kidd – READ

In Progress

  • Affinity by Sarah Waters (pg. 10/352)

Left on the List

  • The White Castle by Orhan Pamuk
  • Martin Dressler by Steven Millhauser
  • Greylock by Paula Cappa
  • The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket by Edgar Allan Poe
  • “The Business Man” by Edgar Allan Poe (just a short story, not counted in the list)
  • Thug Notes by Sparky Sweets

DNF

  • Magic Words: The Tale of a Jewish Boy-Interpreter, the World’s Most Estimable Magician, a Murderous Harlot, and America’s Greatest Indian Chief by Gerald Kolpan
  • Hank Mossberg, Private Ogre: Murder in the Boughs by Jamie Sedgewick
  • Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen
  • Sidney Chambers and the Shadow of Death by James Runcie
21 thoughts on “15-ish Books of Summer 2016

  1. Great list! So glad you’re joining in again. Affinity is great and please, please read The Sisters Brothers because I LOVED it and would like to hear what you think!

  2. Great list! Northanger Abbey’s one of my all-time favourites, and I’ve had The Sisters Brothers sitting unread on my Kindle for way, way too long. Looking forward to hearing what you think of it and the others. 😀

  3. Pingback: 20 Books of Summer 2016! | 746 Books

  4. Pingback: May Reading Wrap-Up – The Writerly Reader

  5. What I love about this meme is the chance to see such a wide variety of books and authors.
    Austen in August might help you with your JA book 🙂

  6. Pingback: Magic Monday ~ Outlook Good – The Writerly Reader

  7. Pingback: June Reading Wrap-Up – The Writerly Reader

  8. Last night I vowed that ROW80 was the only challenge I would participate in. One is all I can handle at a time. And less than twenty-four hours later, I’m breaking that vow. But summer reading is a good thing. Right? So I can’t pass it up.

    1. Oh, no! I’m a bad influence!

      Actually, I’m a recovering joiner too. Everything always seems like so much fun and I don’t want to miss out, but then too much completely wears me out and becomes a burden. So, for the last year and a half, I’ve tried to be very aware of how much might be too much.

  9. Pingback: Writing, Reading, and the Watermelon Buffet | Writing Wranglers and Warriors

  10. Pingback: July Reading Wrap-Up – The Writerly Reader

  11. Pingback: Bout of Books 17! – The Writerly Reader

Leave a Reply

