It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? (6/13)

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Short update since Eric and I are house/teenager-sitting through sometime this afternoon. Roughly, I’m still working on the same books.

The Nazi Séance: The Strange Story of the Jewish Psychic in Hitler's Circle Frankenstein Herbert West, rianimatore
  •  I’ll probably finish The Nazi Seance this week after knocking out a good chunk this weekend.
  • I’m halfway through the Frankenstein class and probably more than halfway through the text. I might read ahead and finish it.
  • A tangent on the Frankenstein discussion boards has led me to Lovecraft’s Herbert West, Reanimator stories.

It's Monday! What Are You ReadingIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading, hosted by Book Date!

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You Reading? (6/13)

  1. I read the Herbert West, Reanimator collection very recently and thoroughly enjoyed it, despite some of Lovecraft’s unfortunate racist tendencies coming through a bit too strongly for comfort in places. I always enjoy his earlier stuff more than his later stories, which tend to go into far too much description for my taste. Hope you enjoy it! 🙂

    1. I’d read a handful of Lovecraft’s in the past and hadn’t really come up against too much of his racist philosophies. But, wow, “Six Shots by Moonlight” made me cringe. And otherwise I was really enjoying the tales!

      1. Yeah, it’s strong stuff. And unfortunately it’s made me much more aware of the more subtle racism in so much of his other stuff. Pity! It kinda puts me off reading him…

Leave a Reply

