ROW80 ~ Round 3 2016: Goals

Intro

Have I really not ROW-ed since December? Hmm. I guess so. I took Round 1 off because I needed time away from writing. At the beginning of Round 2, I was still in the middle of a bunch of classes. But now, my summer is wide open.

Goals

My measurable goal will be three hours of work per day, minus Sundays. (I have a theory that word counts make me crazy.)

Writing

David P. Abbott in The Open Court – This is a nonfiction project, a collection of the articles that Abbott wrote for The Open Court magazine. This is mostly for my edification, but maybe two or three other people might be interested in having it. Here’s what I have left to do with this project:

  • Need to decide if I want to add another picture (the file size is maybe starting to get big).
  • Do a final edit, especially of the final article which makes mention of the photos.
  • Write an introduction.
  • Add front matter.
  • Cover.

One Ahead series – This is my historical fiction project, based on Mr. Abbott.

  • Rename files in a manner that makes sense.
  • Gather notes and make a timeline of planned stories.
  • Reread first One Ahead story. Decide on a subtitle.
  • Rewrite/finish second story. Decide on a subtitle.
  • Edit pass on second story.
  • Draft third story.

Publishing

Website – Time to put into practice some of the stuff I’ve learned:

  • Change the header to be a SSI.
  • Validate and improve accessibility.
  • Website metrics?
  • Update “Other Works” page.
  • Should I set up a One Ahead page? Cart before horse?
  • Change blog links to drive traffic to website.

Personal Growth

Courses at Code Academy:

  • Finish Python.
  • Learn SQL
  • SQL: Table Transformation
  • SQL: Analyzing Business Metrics

What is ROW80?

We are all different and we all have different demands on our time. Why should we all have the same goal? The simple answer is that we shouldn’t. If you want to be a writer, then you have to be able to roll with the punches and adapt to your changing circumstances. If that means changing your goals when your life blows up, so be it. A Round of Words in 80 Days is the challenge that champions the marriage of writing and real life.

ROW80Logocopy

5 thoughts on “ROW80 ~ Round 3 2016: Goals

  1. Sounds like a full plate (as usual, I’m sure) 🙂 I hadn’t heard of Code Academy before but a quick peek around there was interesting. I may investigate further when I begin looking for a new project in late August. My “free” time has been devoured by my hapless study/preparation efforts for the upcoming US Open chess tournament which for some reason I talked myself into. 🙂

    1. Well, I’ve kept my plate somewhat clear for the last six months. It’s probably time to get back to work. Coding is a surprisingly fun challenge (for me, at least). Good luck at the US Open! You know I’ll want to hear about it, right?

      1. Thanks. I’m sure I’ll post about it, good or bad. My range of expected results swings back and forth between utter humiliation and shocking the world. Reality will probably include me losing to a couple “little Asian kids” who already outrank me and are brought juice or snacks during the game by their parents. 🙂 (this has happened before) I did order a new good luck charm – a “Hand of the King” pin replica from Game of Thrones. Seems appropriate for chess. 😉

        I’ve gotten interested in code more recently as a guy at my office (who has since left) was our expert in VBA-coded excel spreadsheets – and guess who gets to spend most of his time now trying to reverse engineer most of them to troubleshoot? Jay, of course! 🙂

  2. Pingback: ROW80 ~ Wednesday Update, 7/6 – The Writerly Reader

Leave a Reply

