Magic Monday ~ Now You See Me 2 Review & What I’m Reading

MagicMonday

I like Mondays. I also like magic. I figured I’d combine the two and make a Monday feature that is truly me: a little bit of magic and a look at the week ahead.

I finally got to see Now You See Me 2! (Yes, June was super busy on all fronts.)

The Four Horsemen resurface and are forcibly recruited by a tech genius to pull off their most impossible heist yet.

Horsemen
Sadly, the movie isn’t as good as these vintage-style magic posters made to promote the film. It suffered from an overage plot. Honestly, the sentence above would have sufficed without a major plot callback to the first film. On top of that is the “still on the run from the FBI” plot which felt additionally tacked on.

But the core of the movie, the Four Horsemen and their magical heists, was still entertaining. The chemistry between the cast members is so good that it almost feels like they had a different screenplay than the rest of the cast. Maybe a lot of improvisation occurred? I really enjoyed Isla Fisher as Henley in the first movie, but Lizzy Caplan stepping in as “the girl Horseman” Lula May was great.

It’s Monday, What Are You Reading?

Affinity I Lie for Money: Candid, Outrageous Stories from a Magician's Misadventures On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

Last week, I finished Yevgeny Onegin by Alexander Pushkin, translation by Anthony Briggs. It’s a very light, readable translation; I definitely recommend it.

Started to slowly get into Affinity by Sarah Waters. The writing thus far seems very passive and I’m not sure about that. Now You See Me 2 has led me back to I Lie for Money: Candid, Outrageous Stories from a Magician’s Misadventures by Steve Spill. I suspect that’s the first that I’ll finish of these two. I’ve also been listening to On Writing by Stephen King, read by the author. This is a book I own, a book I’ve read, but one I hardly remember!

It's Monday! What Are You ReadingIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading, hosted by Book Date!

2 thoughts on “Magic Monday ~ Now You See Me 2 Review & What I’m Reading

Leave a Reply

