ROW80 ~ Sunday Update, 7/10

Update

My original “measurable” goal, set on the fly Monday morning, was to do 3 hours of work, Monday-Saturday. That number feels very small, but it doesn’t include anything that isn’t listed below. It doesn’t include blogging, promo stuff, or anything I might do for my other “job” as webmaster for VOTS. I debated whether I wanted to include the “Personal Growth” category. Those are things I don’t want to fall off my radar and I’m only going to do a section a week, so I left them.

I did my 3 hrs/day Monday-Friday, but I think I want to change that goal to 4 hrs/day and take a full weekend. Which means, retroactively, I’m behind. But I’m okay with that. Maybe I’ll get a hour in today.

I bounced between projects during this first week. I should work mostly on Open Court stuff this week.

Writing

David P. Abbott in The Open Court
  • Need to decide if I want to add another picture (the file size is maybe starting to get big).
  • Do a final edit, especially of the final article which makes mention of the photos.
  • Write an introduction. Drafted
  • Add front matter. Added, not in final form.
  • Cover. Worked on.
 One Ahead series
  • Rename files in a manner that makes sense.
  • Gather notes and make a timeline of planned stories.
  • Reread first One Ahead story. Decide on a subtitle.
  • Rewrite/finish second story. Decide on a subtitle.
  • Edit pass on second story.
  • Draft third story.

Publishing

Website
  • Change the header to be a SSI. Improve accessibility and validate.
    • update front page
    • update subpages – Finished PHYSIC, Luck for Hire
  • Website metrics? – Learned about Awstats and its lack of export ability.
  • Fix /images  /img – Added. In general, my file structure needs a clean-out.
  • Update “Other Works” page.
  • Should I set up a One Ahead page? Cart before horse?
  • Change blog links to drive traffic to website.

Personal Growth

Courses at Code Academy (one section per week):
  • Finish Python – two sections left. 1/2
  • Learn SQL – four sections
  • SQL: Table Transformation – four sections
  • SQL: Analyzing Business Metrics – two sections

ROW80Logocopy
Please, check out how other Round of Words participants are doing with their goals!

2 thoughts on “ROW80 ~ Sunday Update, 7/10

  1. Pingback: It’s Monday, What Are You… (7/10) – The Writerly Reader

Leave a Reply

