#24in48 Readathon, Summer 2016

readathon1

Beginning at 12:01am on Saturday morning and running through 11:59pm on Sunday night, readers read for 24 hours out of that 48 hour period. You can split that up however you’d like: 20 hours on Saturday, 4 hours on Sunday; 12 hours each day; six 4 hour sessions with 4 hour breaks in between; whatever you’d like.

The readathon takes place this weekend, July 23-24. I’m going to start at the “official” time 12:01am Eastern which means my readathon starts on Friday 10pm 9pm. Need more info? 24 in 48 Readathon

Intro Survey

  1. Where in the world are you reading from this weekend? Tempe, AZ – Hopefully, next week will be a lot cooler. *crosses fingers*
  2. Have you done the 24in48 readathon before? I have, but this is the first time I’m doing it without having some other something going on.
  3. Where did you hear about the readathon, if it is your first? N/A (And my memory isn’t that good!)
  4. What book are you most excited about reading this weekend? I’m excited to read stories by KJ Kabza and Lavie Tidhar because I know they’re both excellent writers.
  5. Tell us something about yourself. One of my favorite subjects to read about is the history of magic.

What will I be reading?

Aside from maybe finishing up Presto! or The Sister Brothers, I’m going to join Jay at Bibliophilopolis in a Deal Me In variation. (Wait, what’s Deal Me In?) I’ve assigned one of 24 cards (a euchre deck, I am told) to 24 short stories that I’ve bookmarked online in the last year and a half. Since I’m a slow and capricious reader, I don’t know how far I’ll get. If I finish 12 stories on this list I’ll be pretty happy.

5 thoughts on “#24in48 Readathon, Summer 2016

  1. Hooray! Like my own list, yours contains almost NO authors I’ve read before. I do like Ken Liu a lot (loved his translation of The Three Body Problem) and have read a couple stories by him before. And is that THE Robert Howard (of Conan fame) who wrote your Pigeons from Hell story? I look forward to seeing how far you (and I!) get. Although I finished 24 last year, it was much more challenging than I expected. It was kind of fun to do a little mini-write up on each story instead of a more ‘formal’ blog post. I’m looking forward to that again too. 🙂 Good luck!

  2. Pingback: #24in48 ~ Update 1 – The Writerly Reader

  3. Pingback: #24in48 ~ Update #2 – The Writerly Reader

  4. Pingback: #24in48 ~ Update 3 & Wrap Up – The Writerly Reader

Leave a Reply

