ROW80 ~ Week 3 Update, 7/24…er, 7/25

Update

This is late due to the readathon over the weekend. After the last of the short stories, I was done with blogging/social media for the weekend.

Last week…

On Monday, I rewrote the first scene of One Ahead: The Case of the Horrid Haunting (title subject to change). It was a scene that, in the first draft, Eric called boring. After rewriting it once, I decided I actually needed to burn it to the ground and start over. That was Tuesday into Wednesday. I am a horribly indecisive rewriter. I can sit paralyzed for hours over changing a sentence. That I moved on and finished rewriting two other chapters is a win. That I didn’t spend the amount of time I said I was going to on writing is not.

I’d like to finish the second draft this week. I have a substantial change in mind for one of the plot points, so that may be an ambitious goal. But if I put in the hours…

This week, I also have set up for VOTS Fall League and Chris is coming into town at some point.

The past week’s progress is in blue.

Goals

Writing

One Ahead series
  • Rename files in a manner that makes sense.
  • Gather notes and make a timeline of planned stories.
  • Reread first One Ahead story. Decide on a subtitle.
  • Decide on subtitle for second story.
  • Rewrite/finish second draft of The Horrid Haunting. Rewrote Ch. 1-3
  • Edit pass on second story.
  • Draft third story.

Publishing

Website (no progress)
  • Change the header to be a SSI. Improve accessibility and validate.
    • update front page
    • update subpages
  • Website metrics?
  • Fix /images  /img
  • Update “Other Works” page.
  • Should I set up a One Ahead page? Cart before horse?
  • Change blog links to drive traffic to website.

Personal Growth

Courses at Code Academy:
  • Finish Python .
  • Learn SQL – four sections.  1/4
  • SQL: Table Transformation – four sections
  • SQL: Analyzing Business Metrics – two sections

ROW80Logocopy
Please, check out how other Round of Words participants are doing with their goals!

One thought on “ROW80 ~ Week 3 Update, 7/24…er, 7/25

  1. Ooo, I know what you mean about being indecisive. It can take me ages to get certain kinds of scenes down.

    Even though you didn’t spend as much time on writing as you intended, you are moving right along with your goals. 🙂

Leave a Reply

