#24in48 ~ Update 4 & Wrap Up

readathon1

For some reason, the 24 in 48 never goes well for me. Time-wise, I only read for 12 hours, but I did finish all 24 stories that I had chosen!

My top five from the weekend:

  1. “Monkey King, Faerie Queen” by Zen Cho
  2. “Multo” by Samuel Marzioli
  3. “All Souls Proceed” by KJ Kabza
  4. “The Tomato Thief” by Ursula Vernon
  5. “If You Were a Dinosaur, My Love” by Rachel Swirsky

The top two are by authors I was completely unfamiliar with!

Here are the last six I read:

19 – “The Dead Smile” by Francis Marion Crawford
Genre: horror
Quote:
“I know that something will prevent it and keep us apart.”
“Nothing shall!”
“Nothing?”
“Nothing human,” said Gabriel Ockram, as she drew him down to her.
Comment: I saw where this story was going pretty early on, but the ride was still good, creepy fun. With the “dead smile” turning up on so many visages, this would make a great tele-play.

20 – “A Beautiful Memory” by Shannon Peavey
Genre: fantasy
Quote: One bird was ripening on the vine, nearly ready to be cut—the first one she’d ever planted.
Comment: I liked this story, but I don’t have a lot to say about it. It does have one scene not for the squeamish. (I am not squeamish.)

21 – “The Last Séance” by Leona Preston
Genre: fantasy
Quote: There it was again, the familiar twinkle in my companion’s eye, ever present when he was confident he had the better of me.
Comment: With the Houdini and Doyle friendship getting press lately, this was a nicely done piece of flash fiction.

22 – “If You See Him on the Road” by KJ Kabza
Genre: science fiction
Quote: “Myth and folklore is the only way forward now, Jin. For history and physics both.”
Comment: Great look at what sorts of beliefs might crop up in a generational space travel. Much different than the earlier Kabza story (not surprising).

23 – “Pocosin” by Ursula Vernon
Genre: fantasy
Quote: “Don’t try to tell me you’re dying,” she said grimly. “I won’t believe it. Not from a possum.”
Comment: My second Kabza story on the list was followed by my second Vernon story on the list. Ursula Vernon might become my go-to when I need a little fantasy.

24 – “Til Death Do Us” by Tyler Miller
Genre: horror
Quote: (didn’t have one)
Comment: Sadly, the readathon ended on a low note. I nearly chucked this story early on due to an easily google-able misunderstanding, but it was short and I wasn’t going to give up on the 24th story. (For the record…)

4 thoughts on “#24in48 ~ Update 4 & Wrap Up

  1. Looks like we both discovered some new favorite authors during the 24in48 readathon. I call that a success regardless of how many actual hours we logged. 🙂

  2. So glad you liked it! “Multo” was part of a series of stories I wrote based on Filipino folklore and urban legends. I have two more, both horror. One, called “Pagpag,” is forthcoming in Apex Magazine in October and the other, called “Servant of the Aswang,” can be listened to for free at Pseudopod Podcast. Cheers!

  3. Pingback: Deal Me In, Week 23 ~ “The Snake-Oil Salesman and the Prophet’s Head” – The Writerly Reader

Leave a Reply

