ROW80 ~ Sunday Update, 8/14

Week 6 Update

Another sucky week. Insomnia, car problems. On the plus side, the monsoons have finally come to Arizona. We’re soggier, but the temperatures are in a more reasonable range. Been getting regular exercise again, which makes everything a little better. Also, I’ve spent a few evenings watching the Olympics.

Did I rewrite the new beginning to Ch. 3 this week or last?  Last Monday seems like an age ago. I got caught on Ch. 5. I need to integrate a piece of conversation that was cut from elsewhere and, well, rewrite paralysis hit. I think I’ll print out the two original bits and look at them on paper. Really, really would like to get the majority of this iteration done by the end of the week.

Added (because I’m a schoolie): an online macroeconomics class.

The past week’s progress is in blue.

Goals

Writing

One Ahead series
  • Rename files in a manner that makes sense.
  • Gather notes and make a timeline of planned stories.
  • Reread first One Ahead story. Decide on a subtitle.
  • Sorrowful Seamstress – another iteration
  • Horrid Haunting
    • Decide on subtitle for second story.
    • 2nd Iteration
    • Organization Session
    • 3rd Iteration – Ch. 3, 4, the beginning of 5
    • Edit pass
  • Draft third story.

Publishing

Website
  • Change the header to be a SSI. Improve accessibility and validate.
    • update front page
    • update subpages
  • Website metrics?
  • Fix /images  /img
  • Update “Other Works” page.
  • Should I set up a One Ahead page? Cart before horse?
  • Change blog links to drive traffic to website.
  • Investigate the mysteries of Mail Chimp’s popovers (added 8/13)

Personal Growth

Courses at Code Academy:
  • Finish Python .
  • Learn SQL – four sections.
  • SQL: Table Transformation – four sections
  • SQL: Analyzing Business Metrics – two sections
Macroeconomic Course at edX: (added 8/11)
  • Getting Started
  • Introduction and Basic Concepts
  • Supply & Demand
  • Measures of Economic Performance
  • Real and Nominal Values
  • Classic & Keynesian Models

ROW80Logocopy
Please, check out how other Round of Words participants are doing with their goals!

7 thoughts on “ROW80 ~ Sunday Update, 8/14

  1. I love how tidy this all is, and your website stuff intrigues me, as I’m just now dipping my toe into the waters of what I can do with my shiny new online home. I may be peeking into your corners and poking through your corners to Learn Things (because I’m so emphatically NOT a schoolie that my kids haven’t ever been!)

    Hooray for the project, and I hope that scene comes right soon!

    1. I’m a mostly self-taught website maintainer, which exactly means picking apart other people’s techniques. Finally at the end of last year, I took an online class through Coursera to brush up on all the things I *should* be doing. It’s a pretty light class, free, and the instructor is good. If I can tempt any schoolie gene: https://www.coursera.org/learn/html 😉

      1. I’ve saved it. Too many other balls in the air right now to take on one more, but I will come back to it when things calm down somewhat (by the end of September, I’d say, if not a bit sooner than that.)

        I don’t have schoolie genes, but I do have lots of LEARNING genes! Usually, I approach things organically, but sometimes a large infusion of knowledge shifts perspectives and stirs the pot, so I’ll give it a try!

        Thank you! =D

  2. Looks like you’re doing well despite the issues. I’m also a schoolie, and I recently signed up for a course in grant writing (to help improve my freelance prospects). Adding that to my already-full plate is going to be interesting.

    I know all about rewrite paralysis. I’ve got a bit of that myself right now. Good luck with that.

  3. Sorry to hear about your insomnia. I get that too and it’s rough.

    I love how concise and to the point your lists are. Mine are so fuzzy I could stand to learn from your example.

  4. Ah, insomnia. Something with which I am all too familiar. It can definitely derail you. I also know a thing or too about what you’ve dubbed “rewrite paralysis.” I often know what needs to be fixed, but not how to fix it. I find critique partners can come in handy in these moments. They can see solutions that our panicky writer selves can’t currently visualize.

    Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

