ROW80 ~ Wednesday Update, 8/17

Update

Ever since I wrote “Wicked Witch for Hire,” Eric has entertained the notion that it is the most quintessentially Katherine thing that I’ve written. Every once in a while, Eric will riff on the idea of this witch and longer stories I might write with her at the center. Nothing has ever caught with me until something he said on Monday. And so, my nicely organized list is all upended.

I am cautiously excited to start a brand new project (well, 95% new), but I’m also aware that I am not finishing One Ahead stories. On the other hand, maybe this will get me out of my doldrums, both my recent summer ones and the ones that have been plaguing me for the last few years. I’m going to try a more structured outlining process, mainly because this is going to be more of a quest novel—something I haven’t really written.

I also started the next SQL section at Code Academy and realized the first one hadn’t prepared me well enough. So, I’ve added an additional class on MySQL from Coursera. (Yes, on top of the Macroeconomics class I just added.)

Well, I guess if I’m going to upend my list, the halfway-ish point is the place to do it. This list is getting long…

Changes/progress from last update are in blue.

Goals

Writing

Witch Project, aka “It’s all Eric’s fault.” (added 8/15)
  • “One Page” Novel – Some notions for “stasis” scenes and also first “trigger” event.
  • First Draft – Wrote about 650 words on Monday. 
One Ahead series
  • Rename files in a manner that makes sense.
  • Gather notes and make a timeline of planned stories.
  • Reread first One Ahead story. Decide on a subtitle.
  • Sorrowful Seamstress – another iteration
  • Horrid Haunting
    • Decide on subtitle for second story.
    • 2nd Iteration
    • Organization Session
    • 3rd Iteration – left off at Ch. 5
    • Edit pass
  • Draft third story

Publishing

Website
  • Change the header to be a SSI. Improve accessibility and validate.
    • update front page
    • update subpages
  • Website metrics?
  • Fix /images  /img
  • Update “Other Works” page.
  • Should I set up a One Ahead page? Cart before horse?
  • Change blog links to drive traffic to website.
  • Investigate the mysteries of Mail Chimp’s popovers
  • Update Eric’s Blog to something more responsive (added 8/14)

Personal Growth

Managing Big Data with MySQL at Coursera: (added 8/17)
  • Week 1
  • Week 2
  • Week 3
  • Week 4
  • Week 5
Macroeconomic Course at edX:
  • Getting Started
  • Introduction and Basic Concepts
  • Supply & Demand
  • Measures of Economic Performance
  • Real and Nominal Values
  • Classic & Keynesian Models

ROW80Logocopy
Please, check out how other Round of Words participants are doing with their goals!

6 thoughts on “ROW80 ~ Wednesday Update, 8/17

  1. Ugh, doldrums. Particularly the kind that follow you for years and years. Have you ever read The Phantom Tollbooth? It’s fantastic. We have a recording of a reading by David Hyde Pierce. For some reason, listening to all the snarky approaches to the things that slow us down motivates me to finds new ways to cope with or get rid of them.

    These courses you’re taking intrigue me. Granted, all things website sound like banging my head against a desk for hours, but still. The economics course is more my sort of thing. I think. What skills does it teach?

    1. I haven’t read The Phantom Tollbooth; I might have to put it on my fall TBR list.

      A lot of macroeconomics is the understanding of the systems behind money and large economies, so I suspect it will be light on the directly usable skills. I’m shooting for a vague understanding of those systems just to have it. Heck, maybe it’ll help with world building. *shrug*

  2. “Cautiously excited.” That’s exactly the phrase I’ve been looking for while revamping my own blog and trying a few new things. Best of luck as you venture out into your new project… When inspiration hits, you just gotta roll with it! Kudos to you for making so much progress with all your works up in the air!!

  3. “The World Turned Upside Down” is now my earworm, because of you. So thanks!

    I love the “title” of your new work, and I’m eagerly awaiting your progress on these new goals!

Leave a Reply

