Deal Me In, Week 33 ~ “Person to Person”

20140105-160356

Hosted by Jay @ Bibliophilopolis

“Person to Person” by Richard Matheson

Card picked: King of Diamonds
From: I Am Legend, and other tales by Richard Matheson

Thoughts: The phone starts ringing at 3am. When Millman tries to answer it, he finds that he cannot. The ringing is in his head. His doctor suspects tinnitus and recommends chiropractic adjustment even though Millman doesn’t hear the ringing all the time. It usually stops around 6am. The treatment doesn’t help.

Millman’s therapist suggests that he do what one usually does to a ringing phone: answer it. Millman does, but who is on the other end? A CIA agent recruiting Millman to be a spy? A inventor of brain-to-brain communication? Millman’s dead father speaking to him from beyond the grave? His mother *was* psychic after all. Or is it, as his therapist believes, Millman’s own ill subconscious mind? But maybe…

church_lady_could_it_be_satan-1
I sometimes feel all my blogging comes down to how often I can use this gif.

This is definitely one of Matheson’s more meandering tales. I haven’t quite figured out the ending.

Fun Fact: I have tinnitus. I’ve had it for as long as I can remember and never realized that I experience “silence” differently than most people until I was in my 30s. It doesn’t bother me most of the time, but I do prefer to live somewhere with lots of background noise. The high pitched static is only really “loud” when I’m overly tired or not feeling well.

3 thoughts on “Deal Me In, Week 33 ~ “Person to Person”

  1. I had never hear of tinnitus until a few years back when I read that William Shatner – or was it Leonard Nimoy? – suffered from it. I don’t know if I’d be able to cope with that or not.

    I read a great short story by Matheson’s son a few years back in Deal Me In. Can’t think of the name of it now, but off to the archives, and I’ll include it in a subsequent comment.

    1. I think since tinnitus is normal for me, it doesn’t bug me as much. I do kind of worry about whether it will be a factor as I get older. I guess my loud music days should be kept to a minimum.

Leave a Reply

