R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril XI

Banner by Abigail Larson
Banner by Abigail Larson

09/01/16, Tempe, AZ – I just turned on the AC, but nevermind. I’ve already been eating chocolate-covered orange marshmallow pumpkins for a couple weeks now and the Spirit Halloween store is open at the mall. It’s September and it’s time for September things.

One of my favorite autumn traditions  is R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril. Hosted by Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings, it is a blogging celebration of mystery, suspense, thrillers, the gothic, horror and dark fantasy.

Participation involves enjoying stories of every type (novels, short stories, TV, movies, even gaming) and sharing your experiences with others. Imbibe a little peril or a lot.

READ

ripnineperilfirst

ripnineperilshort

WATCHED

ripnineperilscreen

Possible TBR

  • Countdown City by Ben Winters
  • Holmes on the Range by Steve Hockensmith
  • The Beautiful Cigar Girl: Mary Rogers, Edgar Allan Poe, and the Invention of Murder by Daniel Stashower
  • The Hidden Man by Anthony Flacco
  • The Murder at the Vicarage by Agatha Christie
  • Murder out of the Blue by Steve Turnbull
  • Angel Killer by Andrew Mayne
  • Modern Mythmakers: 35 Interviews with Horror & Science Fiction Writers and Filmmakers by Michael McCarty
11 thoughts on “R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril XI

  1. Oooo…Bradbury. Need to think about trying to work some Bradbury in!

    Thanks for taking part. I noticed our local Halloween stores already popping up in spaces that are vacant during all other parts of the year. I don’t mind seeing that stuff this early, it just helps the season last longer.

      1. I was teasing my wife that I was going to go ahead and set up the tree this month…of course I was only partially teasing as I would totally do it, purely for the craziness of doing so, if it weren’t for her much more sane approach of telling me, “no”.

  2. Ooh, good, it’s that time of year again! I’m sure I’m going to participate at some level. Maybe another suit of short stories, and/or maybe I will join you in reading Countdown City. Btw – I talked my book club into reading Winters’ Underground Airlines – then we heard he was making an appearance here in October (he used to live here) at a local book store, so we are going to crash that party. 🙂

  3. Pingback: #20BooksOfSummer Wrap-Up & It’s Monday! What Are You Reading – The Writerly Reader

  4. Pingback: October Reading Wrap-Up – The Writerly Reader

Leave a Reply

