#ROW80 ~ Sunday Update, 9/4

Week 9 Update

So, last Sunday night I admitted to Eric that I had no good idea what the “quest” portion of Wicked Witch, Retired should be. I knew there should be a rescue of some sort, but none of my ideas seemed interesting enough. Eric is very good at plot. Over the course of several laps around our neighborhood park, we hashed out character details, some world-building, and most importantly a quest appropriate for a witch who really doesn’t want to be involved. Of course, this meant that not all of the 3672 words in my manuscript still worked. Queue a rewrite. Ultimately, I didn’t really get as much done as I wanted. After the rewrite, I only managed to add about 1000 words. The manuscript is now at 4707.

It also became obvious this week that I don’t have enough time to do all the things I want to do. Since the Macroeconomics class doesn’t have a near future deadline, I’m going to do half a section a week until I finish the SQL class. That should help. This week frisbee league starts! Which means Tuesday nights are shot. Which means I need to shift to getting important things done (like writing) to earlier in the day.

My Original Goals for Round 3

The past week’s progress is in blue.

Goals

Writing

Wicked Witch, Retired
  • “One Page” summary – Made some progress here.
  • First draft – Add 3000 words/week until the end of the round. – Rewrote, added 1000 words.

Personal Growth

Macroeconomic at edX:
  • Getting Started
  • Introduction and Basic Concepts
  • Supply & Demand
  • Measures of Economic Performance – Finished 2/4 “learning cycles”.
  • Real and Nominal Values
  • Classic & Keynesian Models
Managing Big Data with MySQL at Coursera:
  • Week 1
  • Week 2
  • Week 3 – Finishing this will be what I’m doing with the rest of my Sunday morning.
  • Week 4
  • Week 5

ROW80Logocopy
Please, check out how other Round of Words participants are doing with their goals!

3 thoughts on “#ROW80 ~ Sunday Update, 9/4

  1. It’s a wonderful thing to have someone to hash out stories with. Also, I’ll second what Erin said above. I’m trying to improve my outlining skills rather than just floundering through my first draft with no idea where I’m going or how I’m gonna get there.

  2. Learning plotting techniques that work with my need for open-endedness was one of the best things I’ve done. May your draft pick up speed and life, and best of luck on getting to All The Things.

Leave a Reply

