#ROW80 ~ Round 3 in the Rearview Mirror

I had one set of plans what were usurped a few weeks ago by a totally new plan. And that’s been totally fine! For me, rejoining ROW80 has been about trying to settle back into good writing habits. Part of that ended up being open to a writing project that I’m really excited about.

So, what happened this round?

Writing

newbackProject #1: David Abbott in the Open Court – This was the nonfiction project I was working on at the beginning of the round. It’s a collection of articles written by magician David P. Abbott for The Open Court magazine in the early 1900s. I finished the front and back matter, gave it a final edit, formatted it, and even did a couple covers.  I ended up not publishing it because I decided to release it in conjunction with some of the One Ahead stories…

Project #2: One Ahead series – This is a series of stories about a fictional version of David P. Abbott solving mysteries as a magician and spiritualist debunker.  Coming in to the round, I had one story of 20K done and one drafted and in need of rewrite. The plan was to rewrite story #2 and get a draft of #3 going (I have vague ideas). I really didn’t want to start releasing these stories until I had a few done. I did get some organizational stuff done and worked on the rewrite but then…

Project #3: Wicked Witch, Retired – While I love the concept of the David Abbott stories and have been tinkering with ways to tell these stories for a while (years), it’s been like pulling teeth. I know that writing isn’t always easy, but man. I really wasn’t looking for a new project, but, well, Eric and I started riffing on an old idea and finally something really caught on. I haven’t gotten as much as I wanted done and I haven’t hit the hard middle, but it’s going well. As of right now, the manuscript is at 12K. (It’s been a rough week…)

Other Stuff

Got a good ways through my website improvements and did few online classes. Now that writing is taking more of a center stage, this stuff is taking a backseat.

Future

I’m going to continue on with Wicked Witch, Retired and hopefully have a set of refined focused goals by the beginning of Round 4!]

ROW80Logocopy

6 thoughts on “#ROW80 ~ Round 3 in the Rearview Mirror

  1. I think being able to shift gears when inspiration strikes might be my favorite part of ROW80. I feel very strongly that following passions leads to a better, happier, more fulfilled life, which leads to a better world.

    And you’ve made some progress for your series. Since you’ve decided not to release any of the other projects yet, it’s more like getting a head start than setting them aside. =)

    Looking forward to seeing what you’ll be playing with next round! =)

  2. Things can be a little twitchy at times. We go forward always forward to land unseen… I forgot what else to type.
    Anyways shifting gears is part of life. Ideas pop up like a piping hot toaster strudel ready to be eaten. You made progress that counts, 🙂

  3. Sometimes you just have to shift gears. I have a main WIP with a deadline, but the details of an older idea blossomed and hit me full force recently and I had to do something with it. Of course, now I don’t have much time, but it’s at 18k now and I have a solid plan for the rest. And it’s even better than I’d imagined. But if I’d set it aside, who knows when I’d get around to writing it? Sometimes ideas demand to be written.

    Nice work on your goals this round!

Leave a Reply

