#ROW80, Round 4 2016 ~ Goals (or rather Goal)

ROW80Logocopy

A Round of Words in 80 Days is the writing challenge that knows you have a life.

Round 4 begins on Monday, October 3rd. Starting this round, the community is changing from a linky-style blog-hop to a Facebook group.

Goals

Back in 2004, I wrote the majority of a novel in about four months. I felt pretty good about that. Since then, my love of and engagement in writing has waned and waxed. It’s been a bumpy road. Heck, I didn’t even make it through round four last year because I decided to go on hiatus as a writer.

For some reason, I think that I should be doing so much better now*, writing so much more word-count-wise than I was then. But maybe my pace is my pace, and maybe I’ve been making myself crazy trying to stretch.

So, I’m going retro and I’m going to keep it simple this round:

  • Add 3125 words per week on Wicked Witch, Retired.

That ends up being 12,500 words a month, 75K in six months.

This goal also allows for a lot of writing/rewriting room. I’m still feeling my way through the world of Wicked Witch, Retired. While I’m not really a pants-er, filling in background for the characters and for the world is something I prefer to do within the narrative rather than on worksheets or the like.

The manuscript is currently at 15K after five weeks, with about 1300 words that I don’t like very much. I’ll be starting the round rewriting those.

*Looking back on that novel I wrote in 2004, I do think that I’m a better writer. I guess there should be some progress in a decade.

2 thoughts on “#ROW80, Round 4 2016 ~ Goals (or rather Goal)

  1. Good luck with your goal! I’m not of the opinion that speed of word count makes one a good or bad writer. We all write at a different pace, have different things going on. I’ve been able to finish a 1st draft in a month before. Other times it’s taken me 6 months.

Leave a Reply

