Bout of Books 18 ~ January 2017

Bout of Books 18
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda Shofner and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 2nd and runs through Sunday, January 8th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 18 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

After the last couple months, you’re darn right: I’m coming down with a Bout of Books. I’m going to try for 450 pages of reading, but if I don’t make it, there’s no failing BoB, right? What am I reading?

The Long Way Down (Daniel Faust, #1) Moby-Dick Writing on the Wall: Social Media - The First 2,000 Years
  • Finish The Long Way Down by Craig Schaefer – I have about half left.
  • Moby-Dick by Herman Melville – Reading this through the Pigeonhole, so only a guppy-sized portion every day.
  • Writing on the Wall: Social Media – The First 2,000 Years by Tom Standage
  • Oh, and a bunch of short stories…

Total Read: 496

Sunday

Sunday Total: 48

  • Writing on the Wall : pgs 15-43
  • Moby-Dick : pgs 105-119
  • The Girl Who Tweeted Wolf : pgs 1-4

Saturday

Saturday Total: 125

Grumpy and not feeling awesome, I decided to spend the day reading. I’m knocking on the door of my goal.

  • “Between Going and Staying” by Lilliam Rivera : 15 pages
  • “Blackwater Lake” by Maggie James : 85 pages
  • Moby-Dick : pgs. 80-104

Friday

Friday Total: 40

Where has this week gone…?

  • Moby-Dick : pgs. 60-79
  • “The Haunted” by Joyce Carol Oates : 20 pages

Thursday

Thursday Total: 47

A solid reading day, though a little less than I wanted. Still a tad ahead of my reading goal (which is 33 pages a day average, 66/day during this readathon). I blame the double overtime Nebraska basketball game. 😉

  • Moby-Dick : pgs. 47-59
  • Writing on the Wall : pgs. 6-14
  • “Passelande” by Robert Reed : 25 pages

Wednesday

Wednesday Total: 26

Didn’t get much done other than my Moby Dick reading. I played ultimate frisbee at noon and, after several weeks of not much ultimate but many cookie, it totally wiped me out. I’m still ahead of plan goal-wise, so it’s all good!

  • Moby-Dick : pgs. 26-46
  • Writing on the Wall : pgs. 1-5

Challenge

Book to Movie – Have a book you think would make an excellent movie?

The Last Greatest Magician in the World: Howard Thurston versus Houdini & the Battles of the American Wizards

Actually, what I’d like to see is a TV series. I think big. 😉

Howard Thurston was a really interesting guy. He went from being a confidence man (well, confidence kid), to a mostly poor vaudeville magician, to one of the most well-known (in his time) stage magicians in the world. He lived in the contentious golden age of magic and was a contemporary of Harry Houdini (you may have heard of him).

I’d love to see TV series about Thurston and this era of magic and stagecraft, and Jim Steinmeyer’s The Last Greatest Magician in the World is all of that.

Tuesday

Tuesday Total: 113

09:19 – Need to finish up rewrites and do some web admin work, so probably less reading will get done, but who knows!

18:06 – Finished The Long Way Down. Need to spend the evening writing, so no challenge for me today.

  • Moby-Dick : pgs. 9-25
  • The Long Way Down : pgs. 270-365

Monday

Monday Total: 97

Good first Monday of the year! Started Moby-Dick, which I’m mostly listening to. In an attempt to catch-up with my Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction subscription, I read “The Farmboy” and then read a chunk of The Long Way Down. It, unfortunately, has taken a turn for the worse, but I’m past 70%, so I’ll probably finish it. Also did some rewriting.

  • Moby-Dick : pgs. 1-8
  • “The Farmboy” by Albert E. Cowdrey : 19 pgs
  • The Long Way Down : pgs. 200-269

Challenges

Introduce Yourself #insixwords

6 thoughts on “Bout of Books 18 ~ January 2017

  1. Happy reading to you!! Good luck with your reading goals this round of BOB. I am having a blast so far and have just finished my first book around 2pm… It’s wet and rainy where I live, which has made it easy to stay indoors and focus on reading. 🙂

  2. Bemused Bookworm

    Hey there. Looks like you’re making great progress. How are you finding Moby Dick? I started it last year…but then the holidays came and finals, so i stopped. Hoping to finish it this year…lol.

    Well have a great rest of the week! 🙂

    Bemused Bookworm
    https://goo.gl/ASA4c7

  3. Pingback: What Else 2017, Week 1 – The Writerly Reader

Leave a Reply

