#24in48 ~ January 2017

readathon-238x300

More Info on #24in48

If you’re new to 24in48, this is the basic gist: beginning at 12:01am on Saturday morning and running through 11:59pm on Sunday night, participants read for 24 hours out of that 48 hour period. You can split that up however you’d like: 20 hours on Saturday, four hours on Sunday; 12 hours each day; six four-hour sessions with four hour breaks in between, whatever you’d like.

I wasn’t going to do #24in48 since I just did Bout of Books and I figured I won’t need another readathon in January, but here I am behind on what I want to have read. So, I made a deal with myself: if I got 4000 words added to my current manuscript by the start of the readathon (10pm Friday for me!), I’d join…and use #24in48 as reading catch-up.

Catch-up List

  • Moby-Dick by Herman Melville – Caught-up through Saturday.
  • PHYSIC mACHINEs (Eric’s manuscript) – to pg. 120
  • Economics – Chapters 13-15
  • The rest of The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, November-December 2016 – Finished.
  • More Writing on the Wall by Tom Standage
  • Start In Calabria by Peter S. Beagle

Progress

Beginning Survey

  1. Where in the world are you reading from this weekend? Tempe, AZ. We’re actually having a winter weekend: chilly and rainy.
  2. Have you done the 24in48 readathon before? Yes, though I’ve never managed the whole time.
  3. Where did you hear about the readathon, if it is your first? N/A
  4. What book are you most excited about reading this weekend? Gosh, I’m just looking forward to getting caught up on my reading and clearing the way for In Calabria by Peter S. Beagle.
  5. Tell us something about yourself. I’m a writer, currently working on a fantasy novel entitled Wicked Witch Retired. I also like to play ultimate frisbee and I’ll be taking some time out on Saturday to listen to the Nebraska men’s basketball game.
  6. Remind us where to find you online this weekend. You’re already here, but you can also find me on Twitter at @katen
One thought on “#24in48 ~ January 2017

  1. Pingback: What Else 2017, Week 3 – The Writerly Reader

Leave a Reply

