Deal Me In, Week 16 ~ “Iron Eyes and the Watered Down World”

(Deal Me In logo above created by Mannomoi at Dilettante Artiste)
(Deal Me In logo above created by Mannomoi at Dilettante Artiste)

Hosted by Jay @ Bibliophilopolis
What’s Deal Me In?

“Iron Eyes and the Watered Down World” by Saladin Ahmed

Card picked: 9♣
From: Engraved on the Eye, available for $0 at Amazon!

The Story
With a dual-saber-wielding tough-talking rabbit-woman named Hai Hai, I wish this would have been last week’s story. But, alas, I drew the nine of clubs this week instead. Such is the fickle nature of Deal Me In.

This is mostly a straight-up fantasy tale that feels like it could easily be the upshot of a good table-top gaming session. Zok Iron Eyes is our main character. He’s a tough warrior with an enchanted broadsword. His wife was killed a decade ago by a toad-headed demon and he’s vowed vengeance. He carries one of his wife’s earrings as a token of remembrance. Joining him on his adventures are Hai Hai and Mylovic, a cleric with un-clericly penchants for money and poppy derivatives.

The story is set in motion when the earring is stolen from Zok’s money purse by a young man that seems to be a part of the weak, soft generation that surrounds Zok and his compatriots. There is a little twist to this story which isn’t hard to guess at, but the tale is nicely told, all in all.

Is This Your Card?
Not the 9♣, but I thought I’d share something card-related. Back at the beginning of 2015, I won five uncut decks of cards from The Blue Crown. What does one do with uncut decks of cards? Well, I decided to turn two decks into a bit of wall art yesterday while the internet was down.

One of my remaining uncut decks.
Framed runs of three
One thought on “Deal Me In, Week 16 ~ “Iron Eyes and the Watered Down World”

  1. Great idea on the wall art! I may steal that idea some day. :-). I’m still in Iceland until Friday, but I have found a few decks of cards that I bought for my collection, one featuring the Norse Gods and one featuring “facts about Iceland” or something like that. Then at “the famous church whose name I can’t spell” (not its official name) I found a deck of cards featuring it in the gift shop. But the weird thing is that, as I was walking back to my hotel, I saw a random, unrelated, playing card lying on the sidewalk. I assumed that the DMI gods were trying to tell me to read that story while I’m here. It was a jack of clubs, so “if I ever do a blog post again” 🙂 it will be on Hawthorne’s “The Celestial Railroad.”

    P.S. Would “DMI Gods” be pronounced “demigods?” 🙂

Leave a Reply

