It’s Monday, What Are You… (7/10)

…Reading?

On Twitter, @bexthebookninja is hosting an informal #reReadathon this week. Above is my laughably large TRB stack for it, especially considering I want finish Club Deception by Sarah Skilton (an ARC) by its publication date next week.

It's Monday! What Are You ReadingIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading, hosted by Book Date!

…Listening To?

I haven’t seen Baby Driver, but I’d heard that the soundtrack is pretty great. So far, I agree. (Apparently in the movie, Baby suffers from tinnitus and uses his personal soundtrack to drown out the internal noise. I can relate.)

…Doing?

Writing, editing and formatting, reading. Should be a nice “quiet” week.

What WAS I Doing?

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You… (7/10)

  1. I’ve read Poe’s story (naturally). Seems we’ve talked about this before(?) Maybe it was about “The Turk” though?

    As for ME:
    Reading: I’m reading a history of The Isle of Man (going there in late September!) Going to start reading Ambrose’s Lewis & Clark book, “Undaunted Courage” (July pick of the Andrew Luck Book Club). And a bunch of short stories.

    Doing: Trying to firm up my plans for the #24in48 readathon. Working hard. Studying chess a lot lately. Day 23 of my no tv for 30 days. Waiting for Game of Thrones season 7.

    Listening To: been streaming music (Pandora/Amazon Music, etc.) a lot at work lately. Hooked on the 70s on 7 on Sirius XM.

    Was I doing? 2009 – I gave my 2 weeks notice on a vexing job, landing where I am now; 2016 – winning the Master/Expert division of the Indiana State Class Championships (chess). 🙂

  2. Yeah, I’ve read that Poe story in the recent past, but I’m thinking about putting together a public domain anthology of short stories with automata, so I’m rereading the few I already know of.

    The Baby Driver soundtrack has a lot of 70s funk and jazz. Very “what I’d listen to when robbing a bank in the 70s.” Or I suppose in my case “what I’d listen to while writing in the 10s.”

  3. Pussreboots

    I haven’t read the Poe story but I’ve read other stories with apparent chess automata. We’re in the last few days in our current place. It seems like the work to move will never end. Come see what I’m reading when I’m not packing.

Leave a Reply

