It’s Monday, What Are You… (7/17)

…Reading?

Since WesterCon I’ve been a more productive writer. Since there are only 24 hours in a day, do you know what’s taken the hit? Reading and blogging.  I’ve decided to cut back on ARCs, and review when I have time. Writing *is* my day job; it has to have priority. Blogging is a fun thing that I do for me.

As for the #reReadathon, what I did read last week was rereading; it just wasn’t very much. I read “The Sand-man” by E. T. A. Hoffmann, about a third of The Last Unicorn, and half of “Maezel’s Chess Player” by Edgar Allan Poe.

What am I going to try reading this week? Eric and I have another long car trip ahead of us and I’ll be taking The Princess Bride (again) and a selection of 19th century short stories. That should keep us awake.

The Princess Bride The Automaton (Fantasy and Horror Classics) The Dancing Partner

It's Monday! What Are You ReadingIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading, hosted by Book Date!

…Watching?

I did end up going to see Baby Driver last Friday. It’s very stylish. Great car chases. Great soundtrack.* Plot? Well, I’m going to choose not to think too hard about it. I am glad that it’s doing relatively well among the franchise juggernauts.

* I may or may not have listened to the soundtrack about a dozen times last week. The above clip is the opening scene of the film set to “Bellbottoms” by Jon Spencer Blues Explosion.

…What Was I Doing?

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You… (7/17)

  1. I hadn’t even heard of “Baby Driver.” I’m so out of touch. I think I’m finally getting old. 🙂

    Reading: started Mark Twain’s “Innocents Abroad” for a book club that meets 8/10; reading/studying several chess books 🙂 Listening to the audible.com production of Jack Finney’s “Time and Again” – pretty enjoyable so far.

    Watching: just finished my “2nd annual” No TV for 30 days project in time to watch the season 7 premiere of Game of Thrones last night. Missed the Wimbledon final in the morning; look forward to getting back to watching Penny Dreadful, which I “discovered” before the no TV project.

    Was I Doing: 2011 I was reading the first book in the Game of Thrones series. 2010 Driving my Mom to West Virginia for her 65th H.S. Reunion. 🙂

    1. I think Baby Drive came on my radar through FirstShowing.net which features a lot of smaller production trailers. I think my next “ain’t a big franchise” movie that I’m going to see is Wind River.

      You didn’t miss much by re: the Wimbledon finals. It was over pretty quickly.

Leave a Reply

