It’s Monday, What Are You… (7/24)

…Reading?

The Last Unicorn Club Deception 

Will I actually get any reading done this week? Maaaybe? I have Deal Me In catch-up and maybe I’ll finish The Last Unicorn. I’ve been working on Club Deception for review, but I’m not really enjoying it that much.

It's Monday! What Are You ReadingIt’s Monday! What Are You Reading, hosted by Book Date!

…Watching?

All the San Diego Comic Con trailers.

…Doing?

Recovering from Nationals. On Thursday, Eric and I drove from Phoenix to Denver to play in the USAU Masters Championships. We played three games of ultimate on Friday, three on Saturday (well, I didn’t), and one game on Sunday before driving back (on Sunday). Lots of driving, lots of time in the sun. Eric’s team (seeded 8th going into the weekend) finished 6th out of a field of 16 teams. My team (seeded 6th out of 6) finished in 4th place. I’ll probably have more about Nationals later in the week.

2 thoughts on “It’s Monday, What Are You… (7/24)

  1. That schedule for your games of Ultimate sounds really grueling. Maybe I’m imagining a game has a lot more running than it does(?) as that many games in one weekend sounds like it would kill you. 🙂

    Reading: Still reading some Bradbury out of momentum from #24in48. I have a lot of stories to go. I grabbed dinner at a favorite bar downtown yesterday and read a couple more on my kindle at the bar. This has given me an idea for a new recurring blog post idea: “A Beer (or two) and a Story (or two)” chronicling my “reading in “pub”lic places initiative” – I just made that up this moment. 🙂 I could include a review of the bar and food, etc. Hmm…

    I’m also listening to the audible.com version of “Time and Again” by Jack Finney. I’m underwhelmed so far and past the halfway mark now.

    Watching? Not much lately. Did catch episode 2 of GoT Sunday night, but not much else.

    Doing? One of my book clubs is reading Mark Twain’s “Innocents Abroad” for a meeting on 8/10. Coincidentally, one of the films for the currently ongoing Indy Film Fest is about this part of Twain’s life, and five members of our club (and the parents – visiting from India! – of one) went on a field trip that was a lot of fun.

    My ‘pub trivia’ team were in the “State Finals” Sunday night and finished a distant 10th. Disappointing after being in the lead at halftime. (which is kinda meaningless since it all really comes down to a final jeopardy-type wager, though it IS better to be ahead before that than behind, naturally)

    Oh, well. A busy nerd-week for me! 🙂

    1. Ultimate tournaments *are* pretty grueling. Games were to 15 points, or an 1.75 hour time cap. And there is a lot of running. Most teams have a roster of 20-25 people with seven on the field during any point. So, a player might only play 1/3 of the points. But, yeah, 7-8 games over three days is rough. I don’t know of any other sport that does this.

      “A Beer (or two) and a Story (or two)” sounds like a great idea! I’ve been meaning to spend some quality time in my nearby brewpubs and taprooms while reading or writing.

Leave a Reply

