Writing Update, 8/9

Current WIP

Progress
There are times when I make a narrative decision and I know it’s not quite the right decision. Yet, I barrel down the narrative path anyway. At these times, I really should get a second opinion from Eric. This week will be be going back up the path, cleaning up a few things, and going down a better path.

What is This?
Wicked Witch, Retired is my current writing project. It is the sort-of sequel to a flash story I wrote, “Wicked Witch for Hire,” which is currently available in the anthology Bounded in a Nutshell.

#TerraTues is a Twitter event hosted by @leighmlorien and @summerhwrites.  Every Tuesday writers share a line of their current work-in-progress based on a theme. Tuesday’s theme was “weather.”

#FlashFicHive

I had fun doing #FlashFicHive last week. The pace though, man. Definitely a different set of muscles from what I’m used to. Kinda sorta following the prompts, I finished one story (below, or link) that I’m okay with and started a second which, if I finish it, will probably be longer than 1000 words. I included some process for “The Logical Sight” if you’re into seeing how the sausage is made.

Sadly, I realized on Monday of this week that I really have too much going on this month to really give #FlashFicHive enough attention.

  • I want to get a full draft of Wicked Witch, Retired done by the end of October.
  • We’re relaunching Eric’s PHYSIC series at the end of this month/beginnging of September and I need to make sure I have all my ducks in a row.
  • VOTS leagues. Set up and registration for two of them.

So, yeah, probably no more flash fiction for me this month…unless inspiration strikes. 😉

