Down the TBR Hole #1

TBRHole

This is a meme started by Lia at Lost in a Story. The “rules” are:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 (or even more!) if you’re feeling adventurous) books. Of course, if you do this weekly, you start where you left off the last time.
  • Read the synopses of the books.
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

I’m modifying this a little since my to-read shelf is a mess of books that are mostly in storage. Instead, I’m going to look at my wishlist—all those books I add on a whim during my travels around the book blogging community—and weed out the ones that don’t quite sound as good now. The “keepers” I’m going to look for at online libraries or add to my Amazon wishlist.

alt text Shakespeare’s Tremor and Orwell’s Cough: The Medical Lives of Famous Writers by John J. Ross

I own a lot of nonfiction and I have a lot of nonfiction in my TBR already. This one doesn’t sound that compelling anymore. GO.

alt text Layer Cake by J.J. Connolly

Funny story: First watched the movie based on this book about a week before Daniel Craig was cast as James Bond. No one had heard of him, but I knew he’d do just fine as Bond. Still want to read the book. KEEP.

alt text Trust Me, I’m Lying: Confessions of a Media Manipulator by Ryan Holiday

Kind of on the fence with this one. Published in 2012, I can’t decide whether it will be super relevant or completely outdated. KEEP for now.

alt text Early One Morning  by Robert Ryan

I think I only added this to my wishlist because of another Robert Ryan book that I wanted to read (Dead Man’s Land), which I still haven’t read. GO.

alt text The Uninvited by Liz Jensen

Violent children. A main character on the autism spectrum. Yeah, this one is a KEEP.

So ends my inaugural edition of Down the TBR Hole. Anyone have any experience with any of these? Any arguments for KEEP or GO?

5 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole #1

  1. Pingback: Down the TBR Rabbit Hole #1 – Caren Rich

  2. I haven’t read any of these but I second taking that NF off the list. While it is interesting to learn about famous writers, I’m nor sure I’d be that intrigued by just the medical history

  3. Pingback: Down the TBR Hole #2

Leave a Reply

